Planning makes life easier

I recently started reading this blog (and following her on FB), Laura must lose weight; On Sunday she mentioned that she was planning her meals & workouts for the week because it makes sticking to a routine so much easier.

good idea, Laura.

Remember when I used to meal plan? That was like 100 years ago. With Chris working out of town so much I got lazy with meal planning. Now he’s home, and I’ve still been lazy.

imageWith marathon training starting today, my workouts are pretty much planned for me until November 25th, which is fine with me, but I’m still going to write them down.

Don’t worry, there are no goals being revealed on that screen shot… bahahahah! Only a handful of people know my goals right now. It’s to early to tell the world what my goals are. I need to get a feel for some longer run first.

Meal Plan: July 9th – July 15th
Quinoa Stuffed Peppers
Whole grain rotini w/ squash, zucchini & kale + tuscan italian dressing
Veggie egg white stirfry
Grilled Chkn w/ brussel sprouts & carrots
Chicken Chili
Whole Wheat Veggie Pizza

 

Space Coast Marathon Training: Week 1
Monday: 30 min stationary bike + weights (plan says 4 mi run, but I’m sore from yesterday)
Tuesday: 6 mile intervals (we’ll see how I’m feeling)
Wednesday: Cross-Train .. probably 30-45 minutes on the bike + weights
Thursday: 6 mile tempo – I asked someone to run at the Preserve by my house. We’ll see.
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 10 miles
Sunday: rest  BEACH DAY WITH JENNYKINS!!!

So that’s the plan for this week. We’ll see how it goes. My legs are feeling sore & tired from this weekends runs so I’m playing this week by ear feel.

Today I got in a good 30 minute ride on the stationary bike; I ended up with 7 miles. I also did a short weight lifting session in the privacy of my own bedroom. It went like this:

IMG_2277[1]


I realize I’m not a culinary genius, but dinner tonight was so fast & easy I need to tell you about it.

Pasta & veggies are my favorite summer time meal; My original plan was to make quinoa stuffed peppers, but with a bake time of 1 hour, it wasn’t happening tonight. Instead I whipped up this easy pasta with zucchini, squash, and the kale was a last minute “OH I NEED TO USE THIS BEFORE IT GOES BAD” addition.

DSCN2033

Pasta + Veggies = Love    (Serves 3-4) (depending on your serving size.. with my Dad & Chris in the house we only got 4 out of it)

12oz whole grain rotini
2 zucchini cut into bite size pieces
4 little squash cut into bite size pieces
Kale  – I just used what I had left. I don’t know how much it was
red wine vinegar ( a dash or 5)
1-2 tbsp EVOO
Italian dressing

1. heat EVOO in skillet then add veggies. Saute till they are nice & soft
2. Cook rotini until desired tenderness
3. Throw it in a bowl
4. dash a little italian dressing on your serving & chow down.

I know it’s not complex, and anyone can put that together, but sometimes I feel overwhelmed by the complex recipes I see on blogs, so I thought I’d share a really easy, and relatively healthy meal that we enjoy.

 

I’m done. Headed to make a cup of Sleepytime Vanilla tea & read a book.

Say what you wanna say