sleeping in is over-rated anyways, right?

I need a third day this weekend. One where I can sleep past 4:20am. For the 2nd day in a row I got up early to run.

Chris says I’m crazy.
I kind of believe him.

A few weeks ago an invite went out on Facebook for a trail run over in Tampa. I haven’t done much trail running, but I like to change up the scenery so I decided I’d give it a go..
The worst part of this whole deal is that the trail is 1.5hrs away from my house. ugh. Thankfully there’s not much traffic on a Sunday at 5:30am.

image

image

 

 

 

 

I am beat up, y’all.

I enjoy the change of scenery that trail running brings, but I am not a trail runner. Roots, and mosquitos the size of godzilla… no thanks. I ate dirt once, almost twice. My right knee has a scrap on it, and I’m sure by tomorrow there will be an awesome bruise. The second time I almost ate it I was running along trying to take a drink of water when BAM I tripped, and choked. At that point, I was over it. Unfortunately for me, we were at mile 7… only 3 miles to go. yay. {sarcasm}.

I’m grateful for the opportunity to go down to Tampa and run, but it’s not something that I would do regularly. Thanks to Scott& Tara for the invite.


Last week didn’t exactly go as planned; I forgot there was a holiday on Wednesday when I made my running/workout schedule. I woke up late on Wednesday so running wasn’t an option- I suppose I could have run on the treadmill, but my runs on the treadmill need to start coming to an end. SOON.

Monday  I took a rest day because I was feeling like crap.

Tuesday I planned 5 miles + a 45 min ride.  I actually ran 5 miles, but did intervals on the TM. No bike ride. + upper body weight sesh

Wednesday I planned to run 4 mi & ride 30 min. I forgot it was a holiday and woke up to late to run. So I did 30 minutes easy on the bike, level 3 & then 45 minutes of intervals on the bike. 5 minutes at level 3, 5 minutes at level 8.

IMG_2241[1]

Thursday I planned on doing 4 miles + 30 min ride. I only ran 4 miles (outside) + did an upper body weight sesh

Friday I planned on doing a 60 minute ride, instead I took another rest day since I knew I had a long weekend coming up.

Saturday I told myself I was going to 6-7 easy miles. Well, we know how that turned out don’t we? 8 hard  miles. oops.

Sunday I planned 10 miles at Trout Creek Park… and if you’ve read this post at all, then you already know it happened and it whooped my butt.

I ended up with 26.74 miles for the week.

I’m done here. I need to go lay on the couch and relax for the rest of the evening. I spent far to long planning meals and my workout schedule.
More on that tomorrow.

One thought on “sleeping in is over-rated anyways, right?

Say what you wanna say

