A different kind of pregnancy survey

1. What name did you and your spouse call your baby before you knew the gender?

Punkin Seed

2. When did “Oh-my-gosh-we’re-having-a-baby” really sink it?

I don’t think it will really sink in until she is here; We are constantly saying, “oh my gosh, what have we done?” “Oh my gosh, there is a real live baby in there.”

3. When you think of yourself as a mom, what’s the first thing to come to mind?

The first words that come to mind are, “holy crap.” That’s about as far as I can get at this point. I hope that I will be patient with her. I hope that I will have unconditional love & compassion. I hope I can create a lifetime of memories for her (happy ones, of course).

4. Is your nursery complete? What’s the theme and what do you have left to complete?

It’s 95% done. I need to decide what to do about the rocking chair cushions, and we need to order & hang some pictures; but those are things that I’m not worried about and if we don’t get to them until after she’s born, I’m fine with that.

5. List 5 qualities you hope your baby will possess: fearlessness, loyalty, honesty, compassion, a forgiving heart

6. What’s your ideal labor experience?

Surviving. Labor is something I try to avoid thinking about. I have a very low pain tolerance, and the whole process just terrifies me. I don’t think reading about it will help calm my fears, so this is something I’ve chosen to stick my head in the sand about, and I’ll take it as it comes.

7. List 5 things that have changed in your relationship with your spouse since you’ve been pregnant:

I don’t know of 5 specific things that have changed, or if anything has really changed. I am much more dependent upon him, especially at 34 weeks. I can barely put my socks on, much less put lotion on my own feet. He’s been very patient and has really gone above and beyond to make sure that I am as comfortable as possible. He’s been a lot more attentive than I ever thought he would. He’s a good dude, but even he has his limits; he’s definitely gone outside what I thought his limits would be.

8. List 5 things you think will change once your baby arrives: Everything will change

9. Where do you think you’ll be when you go into labor? Why?

Home, I hope.

10. Have you been talking to your baby? Playing music?

Not really; Chris talks to her. Tells her goodnight, and that he loves her. I don’t play music specifically for her, but I play it in my car; I guess she hears that.

11. In what ways do you hope your baby is like your spouse?

I hope she’s level-headed like he is; calm, and rational. I’m high strung, and completely irrational at times.

12. In what ways do you hope your baby is like you?

I hope she has my compassionate heart. These questions are difficult

13. How long will you wait for the next baby, or if this is your last one, why/why not?

a year, or more.

14. What kind of grandparents do you think your baby will have?

She has a lot of grandparents. 4 grandmas & 3 Grandpas/Papa’s. They are all excited to meet her, and I’m sure she will be spoiled rotten.

15. Who will be with you during labor? Who will visit you in the hospital during your recovery?

This topic gives me major anxiety. Chris will be with me during labor. I’m choosing to ignore the rest of the question.

16. How much will you tell your baby (child, teenager) about your past? Why/why not?

I don’t think I’ve done anything that I’m ashamed of; I think I’ll be pretty open with her.

17. Do you have any hopes for your child’s activities? (Sports, academics, school preference, activities, etc)

We hope she loves the ocean & the beach as much as we do. After that, she can love whatever she wants.

18. When will you tell your baby about the birds and the bees?

never. Can I please just get through labor, then the first year before we start thinking about the birds & the bees? Calm down people.

19. In what ways do you hope you’ll parent like your parents did?

Love unconditionally.

20. Which childhood memory do you hope your child will have (similar to one you fondly remember)?

We have talked many times about having a yearly vacation place; a place where she can grow up, and that she will have lots of memories of when she gets older. We also want to have some sort of weekend getaway where we can go as a family and relax together; also would serve as a great place to make memories.

4 thoughts on “A different kind of pregnancy survey

  1. Two things – I love that you are completely open and honest about “everything will change” when she arrives! And my mom works in NICU/L&D and says having someone in the family (ie: your mom/dad) responsible for telling everyone else filtering the information re: your room number, etc. works really well to give the new mom/dad quiet time. She is totally the nurse that hardballs the pushy family members!

Say what you wanna say

