Where dreams are made

This past weekend we were fortunate enough to be able to head over to Daytona Beach for the weekend. A friend has a condo right on the beach that she rented out to us. It was AMAZING!

First of all, it’s bigger than my house. Second of all, IT’S RIGHT ON THE OCEAN, ‘Y’ALL.

kids beach1

 

 

 

 

That’s the ocean right out that door y’all, the ocean. I was in HEAVEN.

The condo had 3 bedrooms, with two of the rooms having balconies. We got one room, Stacey & her husband got the other. We put the kids in the back room with no view. sorry kids, Aunt Jena NEEDS to hear the ocean. I LOVED having the door open and listening to the waves crash. We have one of those sound machines that has the waves crashing as one of the sounds; I love that thing, but the real thing is 1 million times better.

My goal in life is to live on the beach. Not just near the beach, ON THE BEACH.

IMG_2255

IMG_2257

Saturday morning was pretty overcast but that didn’t stop us from enjoying some time on the beach. We packed up around lunch time to head out and find some food.. but not before I could lock my keys in the trunk of my car. Yup, that happened.

IMG_2270
Aidyn isn’t afraid of sharks…

thankfully we have roadside assistance with our auto insurance so they were able to open the car and I was able to retrieve the keys from the trunk.

We made our way over to Boondocks Restaurant on Peninsula Drive in Port Orange. Boondocks is a little, open-air, restaurant that sits right on the water. Nothing fancy, but the food was pretty good. The portions were gigantic. I ordered a cheeseburger, and that thing was the size of my head. I ate every bite. Baby P loved it!

IMG_2277

After lunch we headed down to the Ponce Inlet Lighthouse.

IMG_2281

I wasn’t about to walk up all those stairs, but Chris, Kailyn & Jeremy went. Stacey, Aidyn & I camped out at the bottom. They said there was 207 stairs; I’m out of breath just thinking about that climb!

After lunch we headed back to the condo for some more time in the sun. The clouds finally went away and we were able to get our suntan on.

baby bump
Found this picture on my sisters’ FB.. she spotted the baby bump in a bikini. eek!

IMG_2263

IMG_2282

IMG_2286

We decided that dinner would be our big meal out; so after some google work we decided on Caribbean Jacks. Their Saturday night special was a Low Country Seafood Boil – We knew that was our place.

Caribbean Jacks sits on the water, and right next to Loggerhead Marina; so there are lots of boats to look at if you get outdoor seating. We opted for indoor seating. The wait was shorter, and we were expecting it to rain any time.

I had a pretty good feeling that this place would be good when we pulled up and there was pretty much no parking. We ended up having to park on the street a little ways down from the restaurant. Despite being busy, our waitress was super attentive and answered all of our ridiculous questions about crab legs.

caribbean jacks1

I ate a pound of crab legs, and a few pieces of sausage from the boil. SO TASTY! I LOVE crab legs! Yum yum yum!

I passed out at 9pm on Saturday night – I was so wiped out.
I promptly woke up at 6:30 on Sunday morning. I watched the sunrise with Stacey on the balcony while we waited for everyone else to wake up.

sky collage1

Sunday we ate some breakfast, then headed down to the beach for a few hours before it was time to load up the car, and head back to Clermont to pick up the dogs. (They spent the weekend with my Step-Dad)

I loved being at the beach, but I was ready to get home & sleep in my own bed. I barely sleep as it is, so sleeping in a strange bed made for even worse sleep.

 IMG_2269

3 thoughts on “Where dreams are made

  1. What a wonderful getaway. I’m jealous of your seafood & your ocean. 🙂 I love your hair right now too; it’s so sleek and dark. You look great.

    • Thanks Lisa.. My hair is currently the bane of my existence. I hate it. LOL. It’s just not cut the way I wanted it… Anytime you want ocean & seafood you’re welcome at the LIBK house 😉

  2. Pingback: Last trip without baby {on a budget} |

Say what you wanna say

