Look: Food!

Last Sunday I browsed around Pinterest looking for some new dinner ideas – I can cook pretty well, (and by that I mean, I can follow a recipe and not burn things) but I lack in variety. I’m not good at just throwing random things together and VOILA! a meal (and neither are a bunch of the food blogs I read, yet some how they consider themselves food blogs..moving on).

I picked these meals to make for last week:

Summer Macaroni Salad in Lemon-Thyme dressing  (forgot about it, and never made it)
Tomato, Roasted Pepper, and Arugula Pasta
Crockpot cube steak & gravy
Sausage & Potatoes
Grilled Pork chops – no recipe; DH just seasoned them and stuck ‘em on the grill
Grits & Eggs… this is what happened when I forgot about the first recipe. I had no idea what I had planned so we opted for the quick & easy, but always satisfying, grits & eggs. mmmmm

 

On Monday I decided to make the Tomato, Roasted Pepper & Arugula dish.. I’m not a fan of tomatoes, but I’ll try anything so I went ahead and put this dish on my meal plan.

Here is the original recipe as found on the website: (I didn’t use the items highlighted in purple)

Tomato, Roasted Pepper & Arugula Pasta

  1. 8 ounces, weight Pasta
  2. 2 teaspoons Olive Oil, Divided
  3. 1 whole Shallot, Minced
  4. 1 clove Garlic, Minced
  5. 1 cup Grape Tomatoes, Halved
  6. ½ cups Roasted Red Peppers, Chopped
  7. ¼ cups Fresh Basil, Chopped, Divided
  8. 1 teaspoon Smoked Paprika
  9. ½ teaspoons Crushed Red Pepper Flakes
  10. ½ teaspoons Salt
  11. ¼ teaspoons Black Pepper
  12. 2 cups Fresh Arugula
  13. 2 ounces, weight Fresh Mozzarella Cheese, Diced
  14. ¼ cups Parmesan Cheese
  1. Cook pasta according to package directions, reserving 1/4 cup of the pasta cooking water.
  2. While the pasta cooks, heat 1 teaspoon of olive oil in a large pan over medium heat. Add the shallot and garlic and cook until soft and fragrant, about 6 minutes. Add the tomatoes, roasted red peppers, half of the basil, smoked paprika, crushed red pepper flakes, salt and pepper and stir to combine. Let the mixture cook for another 5-6 minutes until the tomatoes begin to soften.
  3. Add the arugula to the pan and drizzle the remaining 1 teaspoon olive oil over the arugula. Stir it to combine and cook until the arugula wilts. Turn the heat to low and stir in the mozzarella cheese. Add the cooked pasta and the pasta water and stir until combined. Top with Parmesan cheese.

The only thing I would do differently is add the mozzarella on top after it’s been served. When I put the mozzarella in, it melted and all of the arugula stuck together.

IMG_1814

Chris and I both enjoyed this meal (despite my dislike for tomatoes). I would make it again.

 

On Wednesday I got out my crockpot, dumped in a few ingredients, set it to low for 8 hours then rushed out the door to work. This recipe was by far one of the quickest meals I’ve made in a long time.

Crockpot Cube Steak & Gravy

Cube steak   (I used a family size pack)
2 cans (10.75 ounce size) cream of mushroom soup
1 envelope onion soup mix
3/4  cup water

Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

Place all ingredients in a crock pot. Cook on low all day. Serve over rice, noodles, mashed potatoes or with your favorite side dishes.

 

This dish looks & smells disgusting when you take the lid off the crockpot, but I PROMISE, it tastes really good. I was a little worried that my pregnant nose would not be able to handle the smell, but I did alright with it.

I cooked some brown rice & steamed some carrots to go alongside the cube steak.

IMG_1827

It resembles dog food, but it’s pretty tasty! We both really enjoyed it and would definitely make it again.

 

Now it’s time to start working on my meal planning for the upcoming week…

 

Please share your favorite crock pot meal with me AND your favorite summer time meal {pleassssssse}

 

 

Disclaimer: I feel like it’s fairly obvious, but I should mention that I did not come up with either one of these recipes, I found them both on Pinterest. There are links to the original recipes within this post. 

5 thoughts on “Look: Food!

  1. That pasta recipe looks great! I’ll have to try it.

    I have several crock pot recipes that I love, I posted most of them on my blog. Probably my husband’s favorite is salsa chicken:
    Chicken breasts (I use 2-3, 1-1.5 lbs)
    1 jar salsa (the kind I buy is 16oz and the spicier the better!)
    1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
    Cumin

    Place chicken on bottom of crock pot, sprinkle with cumin. Add black beans and salsa. Cook 8 hours on low (or however long you’re at work).

    I usually serve with lime-cilantro rice, just add the juice of 1 lime, a handful of chopped cilantro and salt (to taste) to cooked white rice. Easy peasy!

    • Do you put any water or anything in the bottom of the crockpot? Don’t the chicken breasts stick? This always confuses me – I always add water or chicken stock because I’m afraid the chicken will stick & burn.

      • No, I never put anything under the chicken and haven’t had any issues with it sticking. If you’re worried about it, you could put some salsa on the bottom!

Say what you wanna say

