gettin’ it done monday: legs, legs, legs

It’s a new week, and I wanted to start it out right ~ I fixed a bowl of Bob’s redmill rolled oats; I added gold standard vanilla whey protein, 1/4c of raspberries, and 1tsp of cinnamon powder. Fantastic way to start the day.

I’ve been staying away from the oatmeal lately because it causes me to bloat, but I need to increase my calories, and oatmeal is a good & healthy way to do that.

I’ve realized over the last few weeks that I’m not eating enough – not on purpose, I just don’t have enough food pre-made to take to work with me, and then when I get home from work I eat whatever is easiest …. which is usually a scrambled egg on a ezekiel bread english muffin.. not exactly stellar nutritional habits right here.

These crappy eating habits are probably to blame for my lack of progress at the gym. I am getting some definition, but I don’t feel like I’m really gaining any muscle, which is one of my goals.



(it’s my blog & I’ll post pictures of my muscles if I want to)

I switched up days this week so instead of doing arms today, I did legs today.. by time I got to the gym today I was ready to get my workout on.

Warm up:
15 min on elliptical
foam roll
stretch
push ups 3 x 8

Workout:

DB squat 4 x 6
Barbell DL 4 x 6
DB step ups 4 x 6
Sumo squat 4 x 6
leg extensions 4 x 6
seated leg curls 4 x 6
calf raises 4 x 6
seated row 4 x 6
leg press 4 x 6
leg raises 3 x 12
ball crunch 3 x 8
bosu ball rack crunch 3 x 10

 

I have no idea what that thing is called, so I will refer to it as the bosu ball rack.. makes total sense in my head!

After the gym I couldn’t wait to get home & eat! I loosely used this recipe to create shredded crockpot chicken. I also sauteed some brussel sprouts, and ate some left over quinoa & black beans that I made last night.

the chicken was meh.. kind of dry, not a whole lot of flavor. We didn’t have any BBQ sauce, and I’m not a big fan anyways (to much sugar, and other junk) .. We poured the juice that was in the crockpot on the chicken, but it didn’t make a huge difference. 

 

I’m headed to bed.. need lots of sleep to help my muscles grow!

One thought on “gettin’ it done monday: legs, legs, legs

Say what you wanna say

