Sunday Funday: Get your lift on

I learned something this weekend: Running ZERO miles during the week, and then attempting 12 on Saturday will not be successful.

On Saturday morning I headed out to Long Leaf to meet up with Shannon (and a whole bunch of other Striders) for a Saturday long run. I had a feeling this run would not go well, but I went anyways, and hoped for the best.

I actually felt pretty good for the first 8 miles – but around mile 7 my stomach started to gurgle and I knew it was going to be bad. We were going to turn around at 8, but there was a bathroom at 8.5 so we continued onto the bathrooms.  I told Shannon I didn’t know if I could make it back to Long Leaf; my knees & hips were killing me. I bolted to the bathroom as soon as we hit Starkey Park, then did a few minutes of stretching. We headed back to Long Leaf, but it wasn’t long before I knew I wasn’t going to make it the remaining 4 (turned 5.5 miles). I called it quits and headed back to the park and hoped someone could take me home. THANKFULLY Melanie was walking out on the trail and was kind enough to drive my lame ass back to my car in Long Leaf.

I was frustrated I couldn’t complete the run, but honestly, what did I expect? Shannon ended up with 14 miles, and there is no way I could have made it 14 miles without seriously injuring myself. As it is, my hips are sore, and the outside of my right foot has something funky going on. I can’t imagine what kind of ailments I’d have if I would have continued on.. oh well, lesson learned.

12 1 run with Shan

apparently I hit the lap button somewhere during mile 7. oops.
_________________________________

Since Saturday’s run left me feeling annoying & unsatisfied I headed to the gym as soon as it opened on Sunday. I had skipped my legs workout on Friday, but seeing as how my run on Saturday left me nearly dead, I decided legs probably wasn’t a good idea.

Cardio: 30 min on elliptical

warm up:  foam rolling, arm circles, lots of hip stretching

Workout
push ups :                              3×8
bench dips                            3×8
db shoulder press               3×8
db lat raise                           3×8
DB rear delt row                  3×8
bent over db row                3×8
reverse cable curl              3×8
cable upright row               3×8
cable triceps push down   3×8
wide-grip lat pulldown       3×8
superman                             3×12
leg raise                                3×12

This workout is a lot longer than what I usually do, but I was craving some “me” time & some time in the gym. I enjoyed every second of this workout.

 

As for the rest of this week, I’m going to try hard to incorporate a few more miles into my week. I’m supposed to run the Holiday Halfathon this weekend, and to say I’m worried is an understatement.

Monday: bike + LEGS
Tuesday: 3mi + ARMS
Wednesday: LEGS
Thursday: ARMS
Friday: 3mi
Saturday: ARMS
Sunday: Holiday Half + MY SISTER IS GETTING MARRRRIIEEEEDDD!!!!

Say what you wanna say

