to thine own self be true

“To thine own self be true”  If you’re like me, you think that Reba McIntire sang this line in her song, “Fancy.” If you’re well versed in Shakespeare (or paid attention in English class) then you know that Polonius said this in Shakespeare’s play, Hamlet.

A great friend reminded me of this quote on Monday morning and I’ve been thinking about it ever since. It’s a dog-eat-dog world out there, and it’s so easy to get caught up .. so easy to start comparing ourselves to others, or only allowing people to see the very best parts of ourselves.

I try really hard to keep it real on my blog – I post ugly food pictures, and bad recipes. I start challenges knowing I probably won’t complete them. I go out in public wearing ratty clothes, and bright orange crocs. I drive a fast car, and sometimes I like to race people from a red light. I have body image issues. We work hard, and play harder. We spend more money on toys than we should, but you only have one life..and for the record, I’ve been saying that WAY before YOLO became popular. I don’t particularly care for running right now, and I’ve been feeling guilty about that for a while. but I choose not to feel guilty anymore. It’s my body, and my life, if I don’t want to run – I don’t have to, and no one will make me feel bad about it.

My Mom has always said that I march to the beat of a different drum.

__________________

I’m a very non-confrontational person, so that might play into why I don’t understand the need for people to verbally attack other people.. I can’t understand why some people care SO MUCH about what other people are doing – and attack them if they think it’s wrong, or stupid, or whatever.

Nothing specific has happened to me – I frequent a few message boards, and the women (and possibly men) on these boards are so volatile. Attacking people over their hair style, where they buy their clothes, how many times they wear a particular dress, how far in debt they are, their relationship choices, and what they ate for breakfast.

Don’t we have other things to worry about? Healthcare reform, whether you are for or against it … It’s coming, it’s going to be big. The economic status (or lack there of) of our country, and a whole plethora of other problems …. Do we really have time to sit around and pick apart each other?

I applaud the people that are who they are – those that don’t conform just because a group of people have decided that they way they live their life isn’t good enough.

I’m not speaking of any one person – and I’m not speaking of any specific message board – I go on quite a few boards, and people are mean everywhere.

This actually wasn’t what I had in mind when I was thinking about writing a post with that quote as a title, but this has been bothering me for a while, and I guess I needed to say it.

 

…well, I think I’ll go now. I’ve got my bed time tea ready to go. I think I’ll go read the latest copy of Oxygen Magazine.

Good Night, and remember; To thine own self be true

4 thoughts on “to thine own self be true

  1. LOVE!! Unfortunately people care so much about what others think…I didn’t get this revelation until after I had kids so I’ve made it a point to teach my boys the importance of staying true to one’s self and not conforming to what other think or say. Great post Jena!

  2. I love that you point out this line is Shakespeare AND a Reba song. 🙂

    Sometimes (or always) things aren’t perfect, and that’s ok. I hope you are able to steer clear of the nay-sayers and negative crap and just keep on being true to “thine self!”

Say what you wanna say

