Just Breath: My first time at yoga

 

I went to my first “real” yoga class tonight. I sucked it up, paid the $12 and went.

The Y offers yoga, but I want to check out a real studio. I was afraid if I want to the yoga at the Y, that it might suck, and then I would definitely hate yoga.

I’m already unsure about it, so I wanted a “real” studio, and since we only have one in the entire county I don’t have a whole lot of options. They were offering a beginners class at 5:35, so I registered online and showed up at 5:20.


source

The studio is one room, not very big, and  the smell of incense was WAY overpowering. whoa.

The class ran from 5:35 – 7:05pm, this worried me initially – What if I hated it, and I was stuck there for 1.5hrs? I chose a spot furthest from the door so that I could not walk out – I had to stay for the entire class.

The class was small, 6 people, and I was the youngest by about 15 years. I was hopeful. I need to relax. I need to let go of all the stress, take some deep breaths and chill out.

The class started with a reading from a Yoga book {I admit, I thought this was corny, but looking back, it was peaceful}

The class was based on this Sutra,  “One becomes firmly established in practice only after attending to it for a long time, without interruption and with an attitude of devotion.” ~ Yoga Sutra I.14

Then we they did a few OHMS, and we began.. The class was slow paced, which is okay since I don’t know what I’m doing, but it was a little to slow – Maybe I just didn’t mesh with the teacher…

As hard as I tried, I could not full relax, I just couldn’t. I tried to keep reminding myself that no one was paying attention to what I was doing – I had my eyes closed the majority of the time so I sure as hell didn’t know what anyone else was doing (except the instructor) but I was too self-conscious to fully focus.


source

Will I do it again? Yes. I’ll go back when there is another teacher, and see if that makes a difference.

_________

In other non-yoga related news: I still haven’t run this week. Oh well

3 thoughts on “Just Breath: My first time at yoga

    • hahaha, seriously. Blank mind doesn’t happen for me.ever. I have fallen asleep during savasana, thankfully I was home.. but I can’t stop thinking “I hope I’m doing this right.” “Is my ass crack showing during this down dog?”

  1. Ha! I’m always afraid I’ll tip over on the person next to me when I’m in classes! When I do it at home I’m more likely to focus on stretching than the other stuff.

    {PS, you should check out Hikari Enhanced Comments…it layers your comments like in a forum, sorta.}

Say what you wanna say

