two firsts

I joined the Y this week – I’m looking forward to joining in on a few classes, and having access to a full room of weights.

 

If I’m being completely honest, one of the main reasons I joined the Y was so that I can get out of the house a little more. I’m a total homebody, and not knowing anyone in this area definitely doesn’t help. It’s kind of a sad truth, but it is the truth.

The important part is that I’m being pro-active and doing something to take charge of my insane boredom (and loneliness).

Today was the first day I went to the Y.. I was pretty intimidated.
I had a gym membership in 2007, but I rarely went, and I surely wasn’t picking up any weights.

I went on bodybuilding.com last night to look up some arm routines – I am planning to continue with CFE workouts; but right now I’m trying to find my way. I’m trying to find a balance between running & lifting. I feel the need to explore my options, and see what works best for me.

I printed out a workout, and took it into the gym with me… Then I got kind of nervous because there were a lot of young guys just hanging around some of the equipment so I totally deviated from my plan…. it was my first day – hopefully next time I won’t be so intimidated.

Here is what I did:

1 mile run on TM, 8:50

Tricep push down reverse grip 3x8reps (35lbs) (cable machine)
Tricep push down with rope 3×8 (40lbs) (cable machine)
1000m row (5:12)
Shoulder press 3x5reps (15lb dumb bells)
hammer curls 3×8 (15lb DB)
bicep curls w/ bar  – I don’t know the weight.. 18lbs maybe

2 mi run on TM, 17:27
10 min of stretching
 

Overall, I am proud of myself. I don’t really know what I’m doing in the gym, but I went, and I used free weights. I stood in front of the mirror and did shoulder presses with 15lb DB – which is definitely an improvement. I stood among the guys & did what I needed to do – even if I did deviate from the actual plan.

__________

When I got home from working out I experienced my second first of the day …. I mowed the lawn. LOL

I have only mowed a lawn one other time; I was in elementary school and my Step-Dad, Ron, let me mow the lawn with the riding lawn mower. I killed all the sprinkler heads, so I wasn’t allowed to mow anymore. oops.

When I moved out of my parents house I lived in an apartment w/ 2 of my sisters, so lawn care was not something we were responsible for. Then we moved to a town home, where once again we were not responsible for the lawn.

Chris & I moved to a trailer where our landlord took care of the lawn.. and since we’ve lived in our own home, Chris always takes care of the lawn. I suppose I’ve been very lucky to never have had to mow the lawn before.

I suppose I didn’t have to mow it today, but Chris hasn’t had a second of free time and it doesn’t look like he’ll be getting any free time in the near future, so I did it… I mowed the lawn.

and let me tell you…. it was a lot harder than I thought it would be. apparently we don’t have a self-propelled mower. Hmph. I actually had to push that darn thing.

Sooo, I just wrote 4 paragraphs about mowing the lawn.. My life is EXCITING!

 

If you lift weights, where do you get your workouts from?

Are you intimidated by all the guys standing around the free weight section?

3 thoughts on “two firsts

  1. That workout looks good! I get mine from my gym, they post workouts of the week. Growing up I would cut my grandparents grass for extra cash. It has probably been 8 years since I’ve cut grass!

  2. I always feel super awkward during my first few trips to a new gym of any sort – I feel like I’m the only one that is lost or confused. Which I very well may be. But before long you learn your way around and if you go at regular times you even get to know the people that are there – maybe not by name but at least by habits {yes, good and bad!}. Keep on going, you’ll get more comfortable before long!

    We used to have a lawn that was over an acre in size…I was the oldest so I got lawn mowing duties early on. We had no sprinklers but I did get picked on for mowing extremely crooked lines – I was always trying to avoid the cute little frogs along the edge of our lawn!

    • Now that I think about it, I’m wondering if I ever cut the lawn at the house my Mom currently lives in. I know I used the weed-eater at least once, but I can’t remember ever mowing the lawn. When Chris saw the lawn this morning he said, “I can’t believe you actually mowed the lawn, and you did a good job – you should have mowed in crooked lines, or missed spots so I wouldn’t want you to do it again.” HA HA

Say what you wanna say

