Almost over: Ragnar Swagnar Giveaway + I ran long today

If you haven’t entered my giveaway for a pair of Asics Gel-Kayano 18’s, HURRY! The giveaway ends TONIGHT at 11:59pm EST

At 1200am (est) I’ll pass the baton to Erin from See Mom Run Far – Check back with her on Sunday for the latest giveaway! Ragnar has hooked us up with a lot of great prizes!


This morning was a little rough – I was EXHAUSTED. I woke up Friday morning with a super awesome headache – it sucked the life out of me for the rest of the day.

When I got home from work I ran around the house like a crazy woman cleaning up because the Realtors were coming on Saturday. I finally made it into bed around 11, and was up at 3:30am to meet Shannon at 5:30 for our long run.

I ran a whopping 3 miles this week so I wasn’t quite sure how this 13 miler would go – the temperature was cooler this morning, but the humidity was hanging out in the 80% range .. better from last week, but still kind of high.

13 w Shan

I really enjoyed today’s run despite feeling like it was never going to end. Our pace was great, but the miles just dragged on & on & on.

I took a gel around mile 5 & mile 10. I debated whether or not to take the 2nd gel at mile 10 – I admit that fueling is an area I don’t know a whole lot about. I guess I just fuel based on how I feel. Today I was struggling a little bit, and even though we ONLY had 3 miles left… we still HAD 3 MILES LEFT and I didn’t want to crash.

I tried to take in more water, but I failed. I barely drank anything – I fail at drinking from my water belt. I just can’t remember to take in water, which is dumb since the belt is bouncing around on my hips and I’m fully aware that it is there.

I have found that I am getting better at taking gels on the run. Last race season I struggled with cramps after I took  a gel while continuing to run. Hopefully all this practice during training runs will lead to a good race day experience.

 

I am excited for race season to get started, but a little apprehensive because I’ve barely been running & I’m not sure I’m in PR shape right now.

I’m planning on running the Halloween Halfathon on October 28th, in Ft. Desoto with Jenny. I’m not sure what my plans are yet – either run w/ Jenny or try to PR – We don’t have a game plan down yet.

At last year’s Halloween Half, we had nice temperature but the wind was absolutely ferocious. I ran w/ my friend Sherry – We had a rough race {to put it nicely}.

We’ll see. I’m not putting any pressure on myself to PR at this half – I was not planning on running it but some plans got changed around and some time opened up in my weekend.

Do you have any races coming up soon, which race?

6 thoughts on “Almost over: Ragnar Swagnar Giveaway + I ran long today

    • Ha, uhm… probably not. Last year we wore tutus – which we took off somewhere in mile 12. I’m boring.. and its to hot to run 13 miles in a costume (imo)

    • I know, it’s ridiculous! But it’s the only way i’ll get a long run in. Our weekends are slam packed right now so early is my only option.

  1. Question–I am new to running (as in only 10 weeks into this new world), and am looking for a good running watch–what watch do you use? And does it give those splits you posted in those posts? That is exactly what I am looking for!

    • I wear the garmin forerunner 305 – It’s an older model garmin, kind of bulky but I love it. You can set it to record each mile split, and then upload your run to garminconnect.com and it spits out that pretty pace chart. There is a new garmin, the forerunner 10 that is more compact and retails for $129. I believe it has the pace chart, but i’ve heard the battery doesn’t last as long. There are several models of garmin, I assume that as long as it can be set capture each mile pace, then you can get the graph.

Say what you wanna say

