oh you know, just for fun

 

 

There are only so many things I can say about long run Saturday’s, and I say the same things pretty much every Saturday that includes a long run – so I’ll just cut to the chase and tell you how the run went.

 

It was strangely cool this morning, I guess Fall was peeking her little head in on the first official day of the season. Despite the fact that it was 90% humidity it really was kind of cool and we had a lot of cloud cover, so that definitely helped.

 

 

Shannon had 20 miles on her schedule today so I decided I’d run the final 13 miles of her 20. She wanted to keep an 8:30 pace and that sounded great to me. I met up with her & Jackie at Starkey Park and we headed out around 6:45.

 

The run went by rather uneventfully. I felt great. I took a gel at mile 4 – I later decided I should have waited, OR took another gel later in the run. The last 2-3 miles I felt tired, and hungry. Besides that, I had a great run. My shoes felt great – they fit my feet very well. I didn’t have any pain on the top of my foot, and the bottoms of my feet weren’t sore either (which was a problem I was having w/ the super feet inserts).

 

9 22 2012 SPLITS

It felt great to run side-by-side with Jackie & Shannon. It was nice to be running amongst friends, just the three of us cruisin’ down the trail. Sometimes there was silence, sometimes there was chatter – it was so relaxing. If you’re not a runner, I’m sure you’re wondering how 13 miles could ever be relaxing.. well, it is. Just something about running in the morning with friends that just starts the day off right.

 

After we finished our run I was thinking back to last year when I was hoping to run a sub 1:50 half & how I would have been thrilled to have a 13 mile training run under 1:50. I feel like I’ve definitely made some progress over the last year, and I’m looking forward to what this race season has in store for me.

sept 2011 splits

For comparison, splits from a run in October 2011.

 

I think today’s long run was rejuvenating. I’m feeling good about running again. Maybe taking last week off helped, maybe running some fewer miles this week helped, or maybe it was just the cooler temperatures that didn’t suck the life out of me – whatever it is, I loved running today. There was no, “this sucks. why am I doing this?” feeling. It felt crazy to be out running 13 miles for no good reason, but it felt good.

 

I needed that.

4 thoughts on “oh you know, just for fun

  1. AWESOME job!! not just in the huge improvement time over last year but ur mental outlook too. sounds like u’re ready to get ‘er done…hehe. 🙂 but that said, i’m sorry, no 90 humidity percentage qualifies for a cool run in my mind!! jk

Say what you wanna say

