WOD’n for Glen

 

I don’t claim to be all that up to date with what’s going on in the world, but I am acutely aware of what is going on in Libya & all the protesting & attacks that have gone on this week. You can read more about the attacks here or pretty much anywhere if you just turn on the news, or read the newspaper.

 

I bring this up because our CFE WOD was in honor of one of the men killed in Libya on 9/11/12. Here is what Chase says about Glen, “Today’s WOD is to honor a Fallen Brother. Glen Doherty, a former Navy Seal was killed on September 11th, 2012 trying to protect the US Ambassador in Libya. Glen and I trained at my first CrossFit gym in San Diego. Glen you will be forever missed and Never Forgotten.”

 

Today’s work out was tough, I won’t lie. When I saw 50 burpees I nearly called it quits before I even got started. My workout wasn’t about me today, it was about Glen, and when I was struggling, I would just repeat Glen’s name in my head. I’m not making that up for blog content, that is what I did, honestly –  When I started to struggle through 50 box jumps, I said, “Glen.” in my head. On squat push press 45, I said, “Glen, help me finish this.”  We are honoring a man that gave his life for our country today – The least I could do is suffer through 30 minutes of a heart pounding, sweat pouring workout.

 

I don’t want to post anything else tonight. I’ll leave you with this quote that Chase had posted on his site today,

“So live your life that the fear of death can never enter your heart. Trouble no one about their religion; respect others in their view, and demand that they respect yours. Love your life, perfect your life, beautify all things in your life. Seek to make your life long and its purpose in the service of your people. Prepare a noble death song for the day when you go over the great divide.

Always give a word or a sign of salute when meeting or passing a friend, even a stranger, when in a lonely place. Show respect to all people and grovel to none.

When you arise in the morning give thanks for the food and for the joy of living. If you see no reason for giving thanks, the fault lies only in yourself. Abuse no one and no thing, for abuse turns the wise ones to fools and robs the spirit of its vision.

When it comes your time to die, be not like those whose hearts are filled with the fear of death, so that when their time comes they weep and pray for a little more time to live their lives over again in a different way. Sing your death song and die like a hero going home.”

~ Chief Tecumseh

3 thoughts on “WOD’n for Glen

  1. Hey Jena – just finally catching up on your blog! Thank you for the comment on mine, it totally lifted my morning. I’m sorry about the injury struggles you’ve had lately. Hope it turns around. And I love all the great recipes you’ve been posting lately. Take care. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Life is Beachy Keen: Week in review |

Say what you wanna say

