Friday Food: Athlete Edition

 Today our Athlete is Shannon – I met Shannon through my running group back in May. She was nice enough to slog though a ridiculous 6 mile run in a billion degree heat with me … and she hasn’t been able to get rid of me since 😉 

 

Ok so Jena has asked me to track my meals because she says I am a “normal” person, to ask.  A normal athlete…  I don’t know if I should be ashamed by this, complimented or just embarrassed… Normal is a relative term, as we all know!

But meal tracking, for her, that I will do.

 

shannon1

(check out that gun.. this is jena interrupting Shannon’s post…. okay, continue)

Today I started off with a shakeology tropical strawberry shake.  I added 1 banana, some frozen peach/raspberry/strawberry mix (rather than ice) and 1 cup of almond milk.  Chug a lug.  Breakfast is usually around 7:30 am during the week.

shan 2

I am a stay-at-home mom who literally is never home.  Between regular errands, volunteering at my son’s school and all else that we SAHM’s take care of I.AM.RARELY.HOME (example last week I put over 200 miles on my car – WHAT?!).  But that’s an entirely other story that I’m sure isn’t required in this post…

 

That said – I truly try to eat all my meals & snacks at home because 1. it’s cheaper and 2. it’s easier to keep it healthy.  I don’t pack items to take with me because most days I’m within a 5 minute drive so I just make a pit-stop at home.

shan 6

Today’s pit stop led me to throw a handful of dry roasted almonds and a hard boiled egg down the hatch around 9:45 am.  Lately I am obsessed with hard boiled eggs but managed to keep it to just one…  today…  Note the glass of water.  I have been diligent with my H2O intake as I train for my first marathon on October 28th!

 

I tell Jena all the time that we eat “mostly” clean.  This is where the clean eating takes a back seat… like in the waaaay back.

Grabbed this puuurty lil Pumpkin Spice Latte (soy, no whip) when I met a friend today at 10:30 am.  Fall has {almost} arrived!  *sigh.  A girl can wish…

shan 5

After a little coffee date and 2 more errands I popped home to grab a bite before heading to pick up my son at school.  This snack was around 2:00 pm.A handful of red grapes and a half of a peanut butter sandwich on whole grain bread.  Rush rush…

 

shan 4

 

Today is a swim day for my son – you may have been wondering where the “athletic” part of this post is…  after school we scoot down to the YMCA where my son has swim practice and since it’s Wednesday – that’s a marathon cross training day for me so it works out nicely that I get get a quick workout in while he does, too! I managed to get in 30 minutes on the bike at a decent pace, keeping my revolutions at 90, the degree of difficulty (laugh laugh) at a 6, getting in 7.2 miles.  Some light stretching then 3 sets of planks – timed for 1:30 min, 1 min and 1 min.  In between that I do 3 sets of 12 push-ups – but I do them “for real” – all the way down and slow.  Yep, feel the burn.  I also mixed in 3 sets of crunches, 20 each set.  Same way – slow.  Leaves me enough time to watch the last few minutes of his practice…

More driving and we’re finally home!

 

For dinner at about 5:45pm I had some left-over steak (lucky me since hubby is away!) and I made a salad with avacado, cherry tomatoes, some goat cheese, sliced almonds, dried cranberries, EVOO and balsamic.  Delish.

shan 3

I wasn’t feeling the glass of wine tonight, so I stuck to water.

Oh, speaking of (what a segue!) – there’s a pic of my new water obsession.  That’s gone at the end of each day.  1 medium cucumber, 1/4 teaspoon ginger, 1 lemon, 12 mint leaves (throw together the night before and let sit, start with a glass bright and early).  Google “Sassy Water” and you’ll see!

shan 7

 

Last but not least is my decaf spiced chai tea and a biscotti.  When I’m reading (books, facebook, twitter, writing a blog post for a friend about my eating habits)… I like to have a cup of tea!

shan8

3 thoughts on “Friday Food: Athlete Edition

Say what you wanna say

