a vlog. sort of

I frequent a health & fitness board and lately there has been an influx of IT band questions. Since my IT band is something I struggle with it I thought I’d make a brief video of the stretches I do to keep it loose & under control.

I rode the stationary bike for an hour before I made this video, so, excuse my crazy hair.. and I’m not even going to apologize for the state of my living room. We live here – it’s real life. It’s not always picked up. deal with it.

 

A few other IT band maintenance tips:

– I never stretch cold muscles. If I can’t ride the stationary bike, or run, then I’ll walk on the treadmill for 5 – 10 minutes to get my legs warmed up – then I stretch.

– I also take hot hot epsom salt baths to loosen up my legs. After I soak for as long as I can stand it, I foam roll & stretch.

– foam rolling – your best friend, and your worst enemy.

 

Lately I’ve been really bad about stretching, and I can definitely tell. It’s something I need to get back into the habit of … Race season is coming up, and if I’m going to have a successful season then I need to get this IT band worked out and loose.

Do you have any other favorite IT band stretches?
Are you good about stretching after a run, or do you avoid the whole stretching thing.

2 thoughts on “a vlog. sort of

  1. Those last two are new to me – tried the crossed leg one after today’s run and could definitely feel it! For that first one you can do it without props – just cross your right ankle over your left knee and do a one legged squat while holding onto a tree or something. We did them after spin a lot, it feels great!

Say what you wanna say

