nothing to see here

I’m still not running. I’m still resting.

I did ride the stationary bike 50 minutes today. I did a test ride for a few minutes to make sure it wouldn’t bother my calf – it didn’t, so I rode.

Nothing really exciting, 11 miles in 50 minutes. That’s pretty slow. I don’t even think my heart rate got over 120. Oh well. I worked up a little sweat and that made me feel better.

Wednesday was a complete rest day. I got dressed to workout, but my calf was really, really hurting so I decided it would be best if I just sat on the couch and iced it.


Since there is nothing going on around here – although I did make a really good crockpot dinner tonight; I’ll show you some of my favorite pictures from our Bahamas trip. (I’ll post the crockpot recipe tomorrow. it’s easy, It’ll take 5 seconds).

DSCN2057

Jupiter Inlet – Approximately 70 miles from West End, Grand Bahama.

DSCN2132

I love this picture of Chris. He is totally in his element.

There is a channel that runs from the north side of the island to the south side of the island which allows us easy access to either side.

The bummer about this channel is that it’s a NO WAKE ZONE..for 6.5 miles …

Last year was the first time we learned it was a no wake zone. There are signs up & down the channel that say speeding is punishable by 3 mths imprisonment.

6.5 miles takes about 1.5hrs.. in the blazing hot sun. Not fun.

DSCN2416

why yes, that is a car at the bottom of the channel. I’ve been coming to the Bahamas since I was 10. I’ve been through this channel more times than I can count and I’ve never seen the bottom. The water is usually to choppy – this year we must have had really good luck because there were several days we could see the bottom. You wouldn’t believe all the boats we saw… Oh, and a car. Yes. really. Crazy, right?

DSCN2406

opening day of lobster season

At the 5 second mark whatever was on my line tried to pull me over board – I started to say, “oh shit.” and then Dale & Dad laugh at me.

DSCN2589

I think that stinky barracuda is what I caught. I can’t remember, but I don’t have the rod belt on yet, so I think that’s what I caught. Those barracudas stink – literally. They have a horrible smell. That guy was HUGE. He doesn’t look it, but he was probably 3.5 – 4ft long and weighed a lot!

DSCN2601

I’m cheesin’ from ear to ear in this pic – That is a nurse shark – not really the kind of shark I wanted to catch, but it was a helluva fight! (see, I have the rod belt on here…not that I was using it, but I had it on.)

DSCN2347DSCN2396

 

 

 

 

In case you thought I was exaggerating about the amount of time we spend on the boat in a single day… 6:48am – 7:25pm .. and no, we never came in to the maring between those times. This was the first day of lobster season, which is like the amazing race for the biggest lobster.  — The water on the north side of the island is much more shallow than the water on the south side. We stay on the south side, so we have to go through that long cut to get to the north side. No way are we going through that thing 4x in one day – Once we are on the North side we are staying until the day is over.

We spend a whole lot of time riding around the shallow water on the north side of the island looking for rocks. You ride up high, then holler when you see a “donut.” A donut is a dark spot (usually a rock) with a white ring around it.

DSCN2425

donuts.

The water on wednesday was REALLY smooth, so it made spotting the rocks really easy. When the clouds cover the sun, or when the water is choppy it’s hard to tell the difference between the rocks & shadows and we spend a lot of time chasing nothing. I’m not exactly sure who that is diving on those rocks. I think it might be chris, dale & jeremy. can’t tell except for jeremy and those bright yellow fins.

That’s it for tonight. I’m headed to bed.

Happy Friday!

Do you have a long weekend? Any plans for Labor Day?

2 thoughts on “nothing to see here

  1. 3 months for making wakes!? Wow!

    And it looks like a lot of fun….a lot more fun than the kind of fishing that goes down in WI. Granted, I am easily entertained by catching little pan fish every time I drop my hook in the water!

    • A little extreme, right? The crazy thing is that EVERYONE that went past us was definitely not worried about the 3 months imprisonment. It just wasn’t worth taking a chance. The channel is obviously really long, and lots of places the police can hide..and they are out there because they stopped us last year & searched the boat!

      I’m definitely amused by fishing locally and just catching little snappers. The big fish are fun, but it’s not like fish on, fish on, fish on.. it can take a while to get a hit.

Say what you wanna say

