scars

I believe in awareness. I believe in advocacy.

I’ve written about cancer awareness a few times on the blog. I wrote about Sam & the fundraiser she did for the ACS last year. I wrote about cancer awareness again in this post.

This year I am working with Florida Cancer Affiliates to raise money for the American Cancer Society’s Making Strides Against Breast Cancer. This October I will celebrate my 3yr running anniversary and what better way to celebrate than by participating in a 5k walk to benefit the American Cancer Society. My VERY FIRST 5k was at a Breast Cancer 5k put on by Health Central in Winter Garden, FL.

Cancer is personal to me.

By the time a patient comes into my office they’ve already been diagnosed.
It’s to late to do the yearly mammograms and the self checks.
By the time I see a cancer patient they need surgery.

 

I’ve sat in a chair, across from a spouse as they told me that if their loved one isn’t a candidate for surgery, they will die.

I’ve sat in a room as a patient has been told their disease has progressed to far, that at this point, surgery is not an option.

I’ve received the phone call from a grief-stricken husband after his wife passed away just days before her surgery.

I’ve helped a patient unwrap her dressings after a mastectomy.
I’ve seen the look on her face when her mastectomy scars are revealed to her for the first time.

Cancer is personal.

 

Time are tough, I know that. People are out of work, and have been for years. If you want to donate, THANK YOU. If you can’t donate, I understand. If you think I’m a scumbag for asking for money on my blog, that’s okay too.

I do ask one thing of you: PLEASE be aware. It is recommended for women 40 & older to have a mammogram yearly. Y’all, that isn’t some insurance scam. It’s not your Doctor trying to make money off of you. it’s a real concern.  You need to be diligent about checking yourself, and having your yearly mammograms.

Women with a family history of breast cancer or other concerns about their personal risk should consult with a health care provider. Screening tests may need to be done more often and/or started earlier than usual.  (source)

If you are uninsured: many radiology places provide FREE mammograms in October. Check your local outpatient radiology center to see if they offer FREE mammograms.

 

This is the one & only time I’m going to post about this event. There is a button on the sidebar. If you want to donate, you can click there and it will take you to the donation page.

 

I’ll leave you with a few statistics about Breast Cancer:

The American Cancer Society’s most recent estimates for breast cancer in the United States are for 2012:

  • – About 226,870 new cases of invasive breast cancer will be diagnosed in women.
  • – About 63,300 new cases of carcinoma in situ (CIS) will be diagnosed (CIS is non- invasive and is the earliest form of breast cancer).
  • About 39,510 women will die from breast cancer.
One thought on “scars

  1. Pingback: « Thursday randoms «

Say what you wanna say

