sweet potato pie ‘n I shut my mouth

On Sunday we headed to Clermont to celebrate my Mom & Step Dad’s birthdays!
{weird coincidence: My Dad & Step Mom’s birthdays are August 1st & August 3rd, and my Mom & Step Dad’s are August 19th & August 21st …all within a day of each other. weird).. Plus it’s my Grandma’s Birthday today, the 21st! Happy Birthday to my Mom & Grandma!

 

My Mom wanted to have a little get together at her house w/ all the kids: She told us to bring a side dish, so I did some google searching and found a yummy looking sweet potato salad.

I found this recipe for sweet potato salad on PaleoEffect.com

Paleo (but not really bc I used greek yogurt) Potato Salad

23 Sweet Potatoes

2 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

¼ cup Paleo Mayo one container greek yogurt

½ Red Chili (chopped)  pepperocini, chopped

1 ½ Tbsp Red Wine Vinegar (or Coconut Vinegarif you don’t do Vinegar)

1 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 tsp Chipotle Sauce

1 ½ tsp Dijon Mustard

½ tsp Sugar (raw) or Coconut Crystals(if you don’t do sugar)

¼ cup Parsley (fresh and chopped)

3 Scallions (chopped)

3 strips of Bacon

Sea Salt and Pepper (to taste)

Directions:

Peel and cut the sweet potatoes into cubes (about ½ – 1”). Toss with the 2 tbsp of olive oil, sea salt and pepper. Spread out on a baking sheet and cook at 400 degrees Fahrenheit for about 20 minutes (or until soft).

While the sweet potatoes are cooking, mix together the mayo, chili, vinegar, oil, chipotle sauce, Dijon mustard and sugar. Set aside.

Cook the bacon (crispiness to your liking). And break into pieces (or cut if you like it soft). And chop the parsley and green onion (scallion).

When the potatoes are done, mix all ingredients together. If you like potato salad warm, like Angel, then serve it immediately. If you like it cold, then put it in the refrigerator and let it chill. The great thing about this recipe? You can make it a day in advance!

Verdict: I really liked the sweet potato salad; A few other people in the family liked it as well, but some were not fans.. I’ve never had pepperocini before, so I think that gave it a taste that we weren’t used to.. kind of a smoky/sultry taste? I don’t know. I’m not good with descriptive words, but it gave it a different taste, and I think that was what turned some of my siblings away from it.
I will make it again, but I won’t use the pepperocini (it’s just what I had on hand).


I also wanted to make some cupcakes, not just any cupcakes, paleo cupcakes. I just got a box of coconut flour (which I love) so I wanted to test it out in some cupcakes. After some more google searching I found this recipe on one of my new favorite blogs, PetiteAthleat. 

Paleo Chocolate Cupcakes  makes 6-7 cupcakes   (I doubled the recipe. There were more than 7 of us)

1/4 cup coconut flour

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 whole egg

6 tablespoons egg whites

Dash of vanilla extract

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 cup coconut oil, melted

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup Almond Breeze, Coconut Milk, water, etc.

Instructions:

In a medium bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients.

In a large bowl, whip together eggs, oil and honey until frothy. This will help keep the muffins light and allow them to rise.

Fold in the dry ingredients.

Line a cupcake pan with tin cupcake liners and fill a little less than half full.

Bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes.

Cool and serve with “Buttercream” frosting.

 

Buttercream frosting

1 cup dark chocolate chips

1/2 cup coconut oil

pinch of sea salt

dash of vanilla extract

Directions

In a small bowl, place everything together and microwave for 30 second increments, stirring often. It should take about 1:30-2 minutes. Place in the freezer for 10 minutes to harden, then whip frosting with a hand blender until thick and fluffy. Or, leave it all messy and melty if you like it more like a ganache.

 

Verdict: Once again, I really liked them; They are different than regular cupcakes. Not as moist, but still really good in my opinion. One problem I ran into: The icing was melting so I stuck them in the fridge. When I took them out at dessert time they were hard as rocks… They tasted even more dry when they were that cold & hard. Chris confessed that he wasn’t a fan….. until I got home from work on Monday and he told me that he had eaten two and that they were “MUCH BETTER” when they weren’t “frozen.” So, lesson learned. Take them out of the fridge in time for them to de-thaw. oops.

side note: the batter is really thick, and not like cupcake batter at all. I used a spoon to scoop out the batter and plop it down in the tin cupcake liners. Mine also didn’t rise as much as I would have liked… maybe I didn’t whip the eggs long enough..

 

 

mom bday collage

Just a few pictures from Sunday:
1. My Mom just got a new John Deer, she took my oldest niece for a ride around the year.
2. My youngest niece, Cali, was not amused by the 4-wheeler. She wanted off.
3. My nephew, Aidyn, LOVES the 4 wheeler. He’s ready to ride. It’s actually a kids 4 wheeler so he rides it by himself all around the pasture.
4. Safety first, got to have ear protection when we are out shooting.

2 thoughts on “sweet potato pie ‘n I shut my mouth

    • I really, really liked it. It tasted a little vinegar-y at first, but after I let it cool down in the fridge it tasted MUCH less vinegar-y.. I’d actually probably use less vinegar than the recipe calls for.

Say what you wanna say

