Clean(er) meatloaf

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again; I am not a morning runner. I can’t just hop out of bed, and go for a run. I don’t understand how people can do this?

On Saturday’s I wake up at least 2 hours prior to my long run. I don’t see myself waking up 2 hours early for a 4 mile run on a Monday morning. mmmnope.

Sunday night I told myself that I would get up early on Monday morning and get my easy 4 mile run in. I wanted to do the CFE WOD after work, and it works best if I run in the morning. I set my alarm for 5:50.

I got out of bed at 6:10. I was out the door by 6:25. … Not much time to wake up, and my legs knew it.

Monday’s are easy run days, so I didn’t feel guilty that my 4 mile run took me 38 minutes. It was humid. so so humid. There was a slight breeze once I got out of my neighborhood and on the main drag.. but not enough to make it feel “cool.”
Is it winter yet?

After work I checked CFE for the WOD.

Warmup:
3 minutes of Jumping Rope
10 Arm Circles Big and Small
10 Lunges
10 Kb Swings 53 lbs / 35 lbs
10 GHD situps or 20 Situps
10 Pushups

Strength:
Sumo Deadlift 3 x 5 (3 rounds of 5 Reps staying at the same weight)

WOD: “Clean and Push”
9-6-3
Heavy Cleans @ 185lbs / 135lbs
Handstand Pushups or pushups off a box

I made some modifications as needed:
Kettlebell swings were done w/ a 20lb dumb bell.
20 situps
cleans w/ 15lb dumb bells
pushups off the end table in my living room

I was pouring sweat by time I got done with this workout.. I forgot to time the actual WOD.. oops.. It was an awesome workout though! I loved it! I wish I had (2) 20lb dumb bells, I think I could have used them in the cleans.. soon.. I’m getting more weights soon..

BTW: If you want to sign up to get the workouts, you should do it now. From what I hear they will only be free for a little bit longer!


Chris tolerates the food changes in our home pretty nicely. He doesn’t complain – he’s content as long as there is food on the table come dinner time.. No, he’s not some caveman that insists I cook – I enjoy cooking, and he’s not picky.

I do feel kind of bad that I pretty much took away all of his favorite meals. His favorite meals (were/are) meatloaf, shepherds pie, chicken & yellow rice, & spaghetti. All of which can probably be made a lot healthier than I was making them, but I just haven’t tried.

Tonight I wanted to make him meatloaf, but I didn’t want to make it the old way..
image

1 lb ground chuck
1 egg
1 cup milk
1 cup bread crumbs
1/4 ketchup
1/4 mustard
tbsp Worcestershire
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper

serving size: 4oz

 

Tonight’s version
image

1lb publix lean ground beef
1 cup 2% milk
1/2 cup brown rice crumbs
1 tbsp reduced sodium worcestershire
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper

serving size 4oz

pre-heat overn 350
bake for 1hr

 

The newer version is not a whole lot better, but the sugar, fat, calories, and carbs are down significantly. Ground beef is not really clean, but Chris will not give it up, so we eat lean ground beef.

IMG_2607[1]

I’ve heard coconut oil is a good source of healthy fat, so I picked some up from Publix over the weekend (for a whopping $9/jar.ouch).. I sautéed our zucchini & squash in about 2 tsp of coconut oil to go with our meatloaf.. On the jar it says that the oil has a neutral taste so it’s good to use for sautéing.. I’d agree. The veggies tasted really fresh – Sometimes when I’ve used other oils they just kind of taste bland and oily. I’ll definitely be using coconut oil for sautéing more often!

 

Before I go: Two things that made me laugh today..

image

image

2 thoughts on “Clean(er) meatloaf

    • Uhm, I just re did the “theme” of the blog..the header changed.. I don’t know what else you noticed? I’ve been wanting to make some changes to the blog – make it a little less about ME, and more about being healthy/eating/working out.

      ugh, i am SO not a morning person. I was supposed to get up this morning and ride the stationary bike, instead i turned off the alarm and went back to sleep.. oops!

Say what you wanna say

