it’s been a while

Saturday morning I met Shannon @ 5:30 to get our long run on. I had 13 on the schedule & Shannon was kind enough to join me! Usually we start running around 6:45, but with this awesome Florida heat we decided to get started earlier, that way we could be done before the sun was all the way up.

I told Shannon on Friday that I didn’t have very high expectations for Saturday and that I wanted to try & maintain an 8:30 pace. I’ve really struggled to get back into the swing of things, and I thought pushing myself to a faster pace would just frustrate me even more.

….it’s really dark where we ran. like really. I had a headlight, but I was the only person we saw with a headlight. I don’t know about you, but I can’t run in the pitch black. I’ll fall and kill myself. My sense of balance is all out of wack if I can’t see.

image

The run was okay. We finished, and that’s what matters. At mile 7, Shannon asked what mile we were on.. then said, “Oh crap, we forgot to take a gel.” duh. How do you forget that? I also drank very little fluids. bad bad Jena. I drank about 4oz, which is pathetic for a 13mi run. I usually drink a lot more than that.

I was definitely struggling throughout this run. My feet hurt, my shoe was pressing on the top of my left foot, and the ball of my right foot was throbbing. Mentally I felt okay – It helped that Shannon was there to talk to. It allowed me to be distracted, and stop thinking about what was going on with my body for brief periods.
The last time I ran 13 was the end of April, so I figured this run was going to hurt a little.


I know this instagram collage thing is pretty popular amongst bloggers right now, but I like it, so I’m going to copy everyone else and throw up a collage:

instagram collage1

L – R
1. Dinner one night this week: chicken, brown rice w/ salsa & sugar snap peas
2. face mask time! 1/2tsp cinnamon, 1/2tsp nutmeg, 1tsp honey. 25 minutes.
3. 4:30am Saturday morning – getting ready to long run
4. grocery haul for the week
5. attempted to run 4 miles. fail.
6. hospital coffee. not impressive
7. post-WOD on Friday
8. Say bye-bye to Chris boat! We finally sold it!
9. Dinner Saturday night. Spaghetti, veggies & grapes

I love Instagram! I love looking at pictures of other people’s day-to-day life.


What was your workout this weekend?

2 thoughts on “it’s been a while

  1. I was supposed to get up early and run on Saturday morning…instead I slept thru my alarm {no recollection if hearing it at all} and woke up at 8:30am. I think my body was trying to tell me it hated overnight shifts!

    So, basically, I think you did awesome getting up so freaking early to run. I love watching the sun rise around me…when I manage to get up early enough! 😉

    • You worked overnight, like, all night? yuck! The closest I ever came to working over night was a 3am – 3pm shift in the ER ONCE… man, that was a bad shift. Lot’s of bad things happen between 3 – 7am, things i’ll never forget. ugh. .. Hopefully Panera isn’t quite so dramatic 😉

      I don’t know what it is about weekday mornings, but I can’t make myself get out of bed.. maybe because I know I can do it after work? I wish I could that switch off in my brain.

Say what you wanna say

