on track

image

Monday was a good day, I hope your Monday was swell.

I received a message from Chase at some crazy hour of the morning on Monday that had my {modified} workout of the day. I opened up the message, and I was excited; a little nervous, but excited.
It’s a new day full of possibilities.


I bring my lunch to work every day. I eat in my office, and leaving is kind of a hassle, so packing my lunch is ideal. On days when I don’t have anything to pack I stop at the grocery store and try to find something halfway healthy that can be easily prepared in an office kitchen.

I also pack all the snacks that I’m going to need for the day.
Yesterday’s snacks were:
6oz chobani(plain) with 1/4 cup frozen raspberries (10:30)
1 large {and juicy} peach  (2pm)
1/2 cup lowfat cottage cheese w/ 1/4 cup bluberries (4pm)
handful of peanuts when I got home. (not clean, but tasty!) (5pm)

Pre-packing snacks leaves little room for error. The building I work in doesn’t have vending machines {anymore} so I can’t deviate from my plan to easily. I like knowing exactly what I’m going to have, and when I’m going to have it. {maybe I’m more of a control freak than I thought?}

Yesterday I started using the MyPlate app on Livestrong – I was using my fitness pal, which is user friendly, but livestrong breaks down the macronutrients further than my fitness pal. Specifically, protein.

You can also track your water intake (my fitness pal also has this feature)

image

That number is correct. I LOVE my camelback water bottle! It’s 32oz, and has a bite straw thing. I’ve never heard of these bite straws until I got this water bottle.
I can physically notice a difference in my run if I don’t drink enough water. I know that sounds ridiculous, but it’s true. If I can rule out everything else (Fatigue, ate to much) and I’m still struggling through a run, it’s most likely because I didn’t drink enough water during the day.

I fill the bottle up before I leave home. Drink 32 oz before lunch. Drink 32oz after lunch, and then another 32 oz before dinner… I also drink a 16oz bottle of water with breakfast.
got to stay hydrated!

It stormed in my ‘hood pretty much all day so running outside wasn’t happening. I brought , up Extreme Makeover:Weight loss Edition on my Kindle Fire and went to work on the treadmill.

My training plan says EASY 4 miler; training plan also says my easy pace for short runs should be about 9:15. I was happy to oblige. I just wasn’t feeling a hard run, so I set the treadmill on cruise control and got the job done.

4 miles, 36:33, 9:08 avg.
It felt good to run at an easy pace. Usually when I’m on the treadmill I’m bumping the speed up every 2 minutes because I want to get done and get off the ‘mill. Yesterday I just cruised along doing my thing. (I should savor that feeling, it probably won’t happen again).

After I ran I stretched, and rolled. I’ve been avoiding my foam roller for days. The knots in my IT bands are out of control. My IT bands were actually sore to the touch after my run on Saturday. (what the heck is up with that?) Yesterday was the day to work them out.
I stretched & rolled for about 20 minutes; then I gathered up my weights and headed down to the garage for my first WOD {I feel like such a poser}.

Since I don’t have access to a gym the workout was modified so that I could do it easily at home.

For time: {14:36:57}

400m run
21 kettlebell {dumb bell} swings  
21 pull ups {presses for me}

400m run
15 kettlebell swings
15 pullups

400m run
9 kettlebell swings
9 pullups

After the first round, I told Chris, “I think Chase is trying to kill me.”

I used 10lb weights for the swings, since that’s the heaviest I currently have and 8lb for the presses bc that’s all my poor arms could handle with that many reps.

I loved the workout. I was nervous. Nervous I would totally suck; There were a few times during the presses, and the runs that I was thinking, “I suck. This is taking WAY to long.” but then I remembered everyone starts somewhere. I sent Chase my time, and reassured me that I did well, and reminded me that I just did more of a workout than some people ever do in their lives. true. so so sad, but true.

 

OH, I caved and made a facebook page for the blog. Like it HERE.
I don’t know exactly what I’m going to put on there. Probably a million iPhone pictures, and even more instagram pics.. Maybe some words for though. Like if you want…or don’t

 

– Work Hard. Never Quit. One day at a time –

 

4 thoughts on “on track

  1. Pingback: Well-Done Wednesday (7/18/2012) | The Motivated Runner

  2. I like your snack ideas!! You just reminded me that I love cottage cheese and should totally be packing that as part of my lunch 🙂 I will be sure to like your FB page once I get home from work!

Say what you wanna say

