count it out

On Saturday, during my long run, I had the pleasure of running with Bob for about a quarter-mile. During that quarter-mile he told me about an article that he read in runners world about a type of fartlek workout.

Your basic fartlek work out isn’t timed, it’s just a run hard until you need a break, take a break, then run hard again. – There is no timing schematics to the regular fartlek workout. This type of speed workout is my favorite kind. I don’t do well with timed intervals; I think it stresses me out to say, “Okay, I need to run X:XX for this distance.” If I don’t make the required pace, for the required distance, I feel a little bit of failure. Obviously this is something I need to work on…

The “new” fartlek workout is called the “100 steps farklet.” Here is how Runners World says to perform the workout: (This is in the August magazine, so I’m unable to find it online to link the source.)

“Warm up with a 10-minute jog. Pick up the pace for 10 strides (counted on one leg), then run slowly for 10 strides. Run hard for 20 strides, then recover for 20 strides. Work your way up in 10-stride alternating increments until your feeling winded or hit 100 strides, whichever comes first. Once you’ve mastered making it to 100 steps, increase the challenge by going back down in 10 step increments or by increasing the pace. Finish with a five-minute cool down. Do once every two to three weeks.”

Counting steps seems kind of tedious, but I think once you get used to it, it would be kind of a fun workout. I intend to give it a try in the next couple of days.

 



word.

Schedule for July 2nd – July 8th
Monday:  
rest
Tuesday:   5 miles  + 45 minute bike ride
Wednesday: 4 miles  +60 minute bike ride
Thursday:  4 miles + 30 minutes bike ride
Friday: 60 minute bike ride
Saturday: 6-7 miles  easy pace
Sunday:  10 miles, trail run

Total: Run 29 miles + ______ miles biked

 

Time to go – I hear a dunkin donuts iced latte lite callin’ my name on this hot summer morning!

One thought on “count it out

Say what you wanna say

