playing catch up

bike collage
Since it’s been over a week since I posted, I’m going to use this post to play catch up on what’s been going on lately… which is pretty much nothing.

Last week I managed to run 22 miles, and ride 60 miles on my new-to-me stationary bike. Let’s just say my tailbone was a little sore. Riding the motorcycle 150 miles last Sunday didn’t help the tailbone situation either…. we really need to invest in a more comfortable seat.

image

Saturday I ran 10 miles with Christina; It was a pretty good run for me, 10 miles 8:13/avg. Unfortunately Christina was having some cranky hip issues; despite her hip issues she still finished with an 8:22avg, she was smokin’ that run! Fortunately the heat wasn’t to unbearable. The first few miles were relatively cool {I use the term “cool” VERY loosely”} but once we got into the sun it warmed up pretty quickly. It was tolerable, but running a full marathon in that kind of heat doesn’t excite me one bit. {speaking of marathon… I still don’t know what my goal time is..ahem… DAVID}

imageiPhone takes the best pictures…

image

 

Hmm, what else? OH, I bought new shoes. I bought the Adrenaline GTS 12’s on May 20th in size 10. I ran 4 miles in them on the treadmill and decided they were to small. I exchanged them for a 10.5 and those were to big. My feet were just swallowed up by the 10.5’s.
ugh.

Finding all new shoes was kind of nerve wracking! THANKFULLY we have a super great running store, Suncoast Running, who takes care of our running group! They are the best; Tracey spent 1.5hrs with me helping me find the right pair of shoes. Poor Tracey!

I finally decided on the Saucony Guide 5’s (which is the shoe in my hand) + superfeet inserts. The inserts help to keep my gait at a neutral position.
I am sad that I had to change from my beloved Adrenalines, but I’m hopeful that I’ll have a long & {hopefully} healthy relationship with the Saucony’s.

For Father’s Day we went to lunch w/ my Dad & then headed to Clermont to my Mom’s house for a BBQ & other country kid fun. I’m waiting for her to post the pictures, then I’ll write more about it.. it was a good time and I’m so blessed to have so many sisters, nieces/nephew & brother’s-in-law.

 

….and that brings me to Today. Whew. Today I rode the bike for 60 minutes, which came out to be 14.7 miles, then when Chris got home we went for a run/walk in the preserve near our house. Chris’ knee started to bother him so we ended up walking the 1.5 miles back to the car. I ran home from the preserve so I was able to add another 1/2 mile for a grand total for 3.5 miles.

I wasn’t really looking for any sort of speed or record distance today. I’m a little leery of the new inserts so I wanted to take it easy and just see how they felt.  — They felt okay. Weird, and kind of uncomfortable; I think I just need to get used to them. Maybe I should wear them to work for a few days. I don’t walk around much at work, so I wouldn’t really be putting on any additional mileage; just getting used to the way the insert feels I guess.

Chris is home this week, so that means I’ll actually be cooking real meals. I did make some meals last week, nothing exciting, but maybe I’ll share one recipe later this week – I really want/need to get back into the habit of blogging more than once every 10 days. I’ll work on that. Tonight we tried Quinoa for the very first time.. It was rather bland; I will definitely eat it, but I don’t think Chris was a fan. He said, “I’d rather eat brown rice.” LOL.. well, okay then.  

 

Alright, last thing, and then I’ll go: My run/bike schedule for this week.

Monday:  run 3.5 miles / bike 60 minutes
Tuesday: run 5 miles / bike 45 minutes
Wednesday: run 4 miles  bike 50 minutes        HAPPY BIRTHDAY CHRIS !!!!! (THE BIG 31)
Thursday: bike 70 minutes
Friday: REST
Saturday: 8-10 possible- Not sure yet. going to Ft.Desoto for Chris’ bday
Sunday: depends on what happens Saturday. If no long run Saturday, I’ll do it Sunday.
Total run: 22     bike: unknown miles

8 thoughts on “playing catch up

  1. I am curious to see how you like the Guide 5s. I have been in the Guide 3s and 4s for the last 2 years, but I am hesitant about the 5s because of the change in the heel-toe drop.

  2. Thanks for playing catch up! It is funny.. whenver I start thinking of where you disappeared to.. you show up with a post and let me know!
    That was a great run you had last weekend..awesome pace. I am debating whether I want to start increasing my mileage again. There is really no reason for it.

    Also – I am thinking of running the Diva Half in Myrtle Beach on April 29 (I think.. it is a Sunday). Half-way meet up?! 🙂

    • oooooo, Diva Half-Marathon! Sounds fun! I’m not sure how traveling for races next year is going to go . We are planning on going to Grand Cayman next December for our 5yr anniversary + there is a marathon there that I’m planning on running.

  3. Love to see those couple of sub 8’s late in your 10 miler with Christina. Given the summer heat, that does suggest you can hang tough, just like I thought. Good one little lady! So, if you can run an 8:13 over 10, what do you think your pace can or should be for your 18 or 20 milers come October?

  4. Oh. My. Goodness. Buying new running shoes is the most stressful thing ever. However being an annoying customer got me started in our run group so I can’t complain too much…they all made my day better today!

    And it looks like you are putting that stationary bike to good use, whether your butt likes it or not! 🙂

  5. Jealous of those new running shoes – even if it was a difficult choice! I can definitely associate with only making proper meals when my man is around too 🙂

    • Cereal is just so much easier, right? The jury is still out on the new shoes – I’m debating whether or not to do my long run in them today. May take the adrenalines back out until next week.

Say what you wanna say

