cowabunga dude

image

Maybe it’s because it’s getting hot, or maybe it’s because I’m just sick of long hair – but every day last week I wanted to rip my hair right off my head. It was just so annoying. I got to the point where I wearing in a stupid bun every single day. I know that when it gets to that point, a bun, instead of down, it’s time for a change.

After searching pinterest for a few minutes hours, I decided I needed to just cut it off. I text my hair dresser that I needed an appointment ASAP and that I needed her to cut my hair off and color it. Thankfully she had an appointment on Saturday!!

short hair 1

image
YAY SHORT HAIR!!!!!

I LOVE IT! SO MUCH COOLER, and it looks healthier too!
No regrets. Chris even said he likes it.. how nice of him, right? He usually likes long hair, but he agreed that this looks much healthier than my long hair.. and I cut my long hair pretty regularly, and use good conditioner on it, it was just done.

Anyways, that’s seriously enough talk about my hair. how boring.


Memorial Day Striders

Monday morning I joined the Striders for their annual Memorial Day run. I set out for 6 miles with Shannon; The first 4 were okay, but I started to feel pretty bad- I can’t remember where we were, but when we stopped for water I about threw up. After that our pace slowed way down, and I was definitely struggling. I thought we were never going to make it back the parking lot.

image

I’m trying to get back on some kind of running schedule but the rain and humidity isn’t making it very easy. I’d rather be doing almost anything besides running around in 100% humidity – wah.

I’m not going to make my 80 miles/month goal for May – IF I run 5 miles on Thursday, I’ll end the month with 70, which is good enough for me. I had some extra miles from previous months to make up for the deficit. I’m 41% done with my goal of 1000 miles this year. Hopefully, with marathon training starting in the next few months, I’ll have no trouble meeting my goal of 1000 miles.

June will be a better month.

That’s a promise.

How did your May shape up? Race PRs? Monthly mileage PR?

5 thoughts on “cowabunga dude

  1. LOVE your hair! I think it looks awesome! It frames your face very nicely! I am counting down the days til I can chop mine again. Leaving it long til after the wedding.

    Nice run! It may have slowed at the ends but those are still awesome numbers!

  2. Nice haircut!! I agree, shorter is better. Every once in a while I want to grow it out again, but I don’t have the patience for that.

    For me, throwing up is a sign of dehydration. Especially if I pushed myself harder than usual or it is humid or hot. I have been paying attention to hydrating and consuming more sodium (pretzels, Nuun, etc) in the couple days before a long run when I know it is going to be humid. I *think* it is helping. But we’ve still got a long way to go through the summer.

Say what you wanna say

