running & reading

DSCN1678

 Run: 3mi, 26:33, 8:51/avg

Ugh. I have tried to like my Brooks Pure Cadence, but I just can’t. They are so uncomfortable –

My Adrenalines are already packed, so I decided I would just wear my pure cadence. bad idea. I felt like I was running with someone else’s legs today. It was so bizarre. I feel guilty for not liking the shoes; they were $120, which is $25 more than I’ve ever paid for any other pair of running shoes.

I also feel like I should like them because minimalist shoes seem to be the newest running fad right now. Everyone is coming out with their own line of minimalist shoe – I see them everywhere. Even the pure cadence are out in several different colors – they are so pretty, but they are so not for me. I guess I have a $120 closet ornament ….


This week is kind of a light week running wise; Jenny & I head up to DC on Thursday for a few days of fun: We are planning on a 6ish mile run on Friday morning – we found a route on  mapmyrun that goes around the monuments. image

That’s actually only 3 miles, but we are starting some place different and plan on tacking on some extra miles – but you get the idea.

Then Saturday we are running a 8k in Virginia & Sunday we are running the Flying Pirate Half Marathon. That’s 24 miles in 3 days – which is nothing if you’re SR, but I’m not, and 24 miles in 3 days is kind of a lot. I’m taking it easy this week in preparation for this weekend – plus we will be walking a lot around DC … good thing, because I’m fully prepared to eat a cupcake or three from Georgetown Cupcake!

Other things we plan on doing while in DC:

Museum of Crime & Punishment (we got a livingsocial deal)
Museum of American History
Holocaust Museum (if we have time)
Dinner w/ Karen on Thursday night

I think that’s all we have on our list for now: We are only there for about 24 hours, and then we head down to Newport News, VA!

This trip is going to be a blast, I can’t wait!

 


imageI used to spend a lot of time reading books – I LOVE to read – I used to spend hours cuddled up in our recliner, under a blanket reading until the wee hours of the morning. Then I discovered blogs, and reading regular books has kind of taken a back seat to reading blogs.

But lately, blogs haven’t been doing it for me.

I finished Lipstick Jungle last night – I’m really not great at writing book reviews; so I’ll just say this. It was a decent book. I watched the TV series first, and there were quite a few differences – I definitely liked the book version better than the TV series version – isn’t that how it always works out? The book is better than the movie?

 

image

I saw this book on Jenny’s coffee table months ago, picked it up, read the inside cover, thought it sounded interesting but didn’t think about it again until today.

Miraculously my local library had the book on the shelves so I swung by there after work and picked it up. I got home around 5 and started the book right away. I read for about 2 hours – went running at 7, read the book while eating cereal for dinner and finished it around 8:30.

This was a fantastic book. The story is about Glen, his wife Liz & their daughter Sara. Glen picked his daughter up from school one day, and on their way home they encounter a driver driving erratically, not once, but twice. The second time, Glen swerves at the driver to scare him into slowing down – instead, the vehicles flips, and the driver is killed – Glen doesn’t divulge the whole truth to the Police after the accident. He doesn’t think Sara, who was in the backseat, saw anything – The story takes us through the 2 years following the accident; the demise of his marriage; and whether or not Sara really knows the truth.

Obviously I really enjoyed this book – It’s a reminder that a hasty decision can change our lives forever.

 

image

I also picked up this book, Sister by Rosamund Lupton, which I plan to start in just a few minutes after I hit publish on this post.

Here is the description of the book from Amazon,

“When her mom calls to tell her that Tess, her younger sister, is missing, Bee returns home to London on the first flight. She expects to find Tess and give her the usual lecture, the bossy big sister scolding her flighty baby sister for taking off without letting anyone know her plans. Tess has always been a free spirit, an artist who takes risks, while conservative Bee couldn’t be more different. Bee is used to watching out for her wayward sibling and is fiercely protective of Tess (and has always been a little stern about her antics). But then Tess is found dead, apparently by her own hand.Bee is certain that Tess didn’t commit suicide. Their family and the police accept the sad reality, but Bee feels sure that Tess has been murdered.  Single-minded in her search for a killer, Bee moves into Tess’s apartment and throws herself headlong into her sister’s life–and all its secrets.Though her family and the police see a grieving sister in denial, unwilling to accept the facts, Bee uncovers the affair Tess was having with a married man and the pregnancy that resulted, and her difficultly with a stalker who may have crossed the line when Tess refused his advances. Tess was also participating in an experimental medical trial that might have gone very wrong.  As a determined Bee gives her statement to the lead investigator, her story reveals a predator who got away with murder–and an obsession that may cost Bee her own life.”

7 thoughts on “running & reading

  1. Well… I spent almost $100 on a pair of Vibram 5 Fingers a few years ago. I was just sure I needed minimalist shoes. The thing is, I wasn’t having problems in regular shoes, so I don’t really know what my deal was. I wear them to the gym sometimes for classes or weights, but they were expensive for the lack of use. Have a wonderful trip! I’m jealous; I’ve still never been to DC. Enjoy the travels, races, and reading time!

  2. I completely over analyze whatever shoe I’m buying because I’m terrified of having that over priced, unused shoe hanging out in my closet…maybe they’d make good walkaround shoes? Get some use out of them?

    Have fun in DC! That run around the monuments sounds like fun!

    • I wear them occasionally to walk around in – but since they have a 8mm drop, i’m always worried they are going to wreck my calves. I thought about bringing them to DC, but again, i’m afraid walking in them to much would be like running in them to much – Oh well, i guess it just comes with the territory of running .

  3. I have some minimalist shoes also, but I almost never run in them. They are mostly just for trips to the grocery store now or for walking with the stroller to see my neighbors. I even slowly worked up to being able to run in them, but I just don’t like it.

  4. Those shoes are SO cute……..so even if you don’t like running in them, perhaps you could wear them around town when going on errands?

    Oh my gosh I wish I’d known you were doing the flying pirate half marathon, I had thought about doing that myself!!

Say what you wanna say

