First & Last

Have you seen this picture floating around pinterest? If you’re not on pinterest, lucky you- (what a time suck)
It’s a lie. Yesterday I went out for a run, and I hated every single second of it. I actually wished I just would have stayed home. Or at least stayed in my neighborhood. Or not eaten so much before I went out to run. Ugh.

I pass by this trail every day on my way home, but I’ve never bothered to see how long it is. I always just assumed it was a mile, which isn’t long enough for me to drive back to after going home from work.

I discovered that it’s 2.5 miles long, which really isn’t great, but it’s longer than the sidewalk in my ‘hood, so I thought i’d give it a shot.

I went home after work, ate entirely to many snacks, then headed back to the trail around 6:30. I had really great intentions of doing an interval workout. Really, I was going to do it. I had my game face on, and I was ready to suffer.

and suffering is what I did.

Every snack I ate before running was beating up my stomach. I felt so horrible. I was mentally scolding myself for being such an idiot. WHY did I have to have to eat that jalapeno mozzarella cheese? WHYYYYY?

The run out wasn’t so bad. I mean, it definitely could have been better, but I managed my warm up and 2 intervals. The turn around flat out killed me.

I was running directly into the sun, and into a 13mph headwind. (up hill in the snow both ways)

I gave up on the intervals on the way back. I reset my watch and just ran back. I’ll try intervals another day – at home, in my neighborhood. I won’t be returning to that trail.

Not really horrible splits, but not super awesome either.

I hate it when one bad run makes me question my ability. I was legit wondering if I could actually run a marathon. What would I do If I was at mile 10 and started having a horrible race? 16 miles left to suffer through. Uhm, pass. I thought, “how bad do I actually want to run a full?”

I’m still waiting on the answer to that one.

Β enough whining.

Onto more pleasant things:

1. 6 more working days until Jenny & I jet off to Washington DC, Newport News VA, & Outerbanks, NC (woohoo!)

2. I’m currently reading Lipstick Jungle – I love a little trashy reading once in a while
– I watched the show on Hulu last week

3. I’m obsessed w/ the show In Plain Sight – to bad Hulu doesn’t offer the current season.

4. The weather in DC is going to be awesome. I can hardly wait to wear jeans & sweaters!

5. I’m sad race season is over – I’m worried about what I’m going to do between now & marathon training.

6. writing posts from the wordpress page is way more difficult than it should be. I love livewriter.

Anything you’d like to whine about? Feel free:

Insert whine here _____________________________

7 thoughts on “First & Last

  1. So glad your blog is back in action. If you and Jenny are looking for a great series to run, you should check out the Watermelon 5k series in Lakeland. It’s $30 for the whole series (four races – early June, late June, late July, late August). It’s meant to keep people motivated in the hot summer months. You probably live too far away, but you do have Sherry nearby! πŸ™‚

    • I’ve heard of the Watermelon series – Lakeland is a little far to drive for a 5k.. Plus, I hate running around lake hollingsworth, so hilly! Ha Ha! I did the Mayfaire 5k in 2010 ..ugh. Almost died. IT was SOOOOOOOOO hot and SOOOOOOOOO hilly.. NEVER AGAIN.ever! πŸ™‚

      Are you doing Iron Girl Half w/ Emilie?

      • No, I’m not doing the IronGirl….I don’t think I can do a half unless it’s the Winter. Ha! I’m just a baby in the heat. My next one on the schedule (I have only done one in my life and it was in Feb.), is the Women’s Half.

  2. You know, I thought maybe I was the only one who did not agree what that saying. There have been workouts that I should not have done because of injury or feeling sick from food too. Jalapeno cheese! LOL! What were you thinking? Just teasing πŸ˜‰

    You bring up a good point about doubting our abilities – we have to become mentally stronger… that may be all that is holding us back!

    • OMG Jalapenoo cheeeezzz.. so good.. but yah, not a good pre-run snack. i learned the hard way. Definitely need to work on my mental game – When the going gets tough … i want to cry 😦

  3. A free pass to whine? πŸ™‚ Ok. Well, I stressed about life, work, big $ decisions, and I’m stewing about what time to aim for next weekend at my 1/2. But, I know I have it pretty darn good in the grand scheme of things so I’m trying to chill. πŸ™‚ As for the marathon, I know you can do it. I still have 2 or 3 mile runs where I feel so crappy that I can’t fathom that my legs once ran a marathon. And of course I have good runs too. But I think no matter how far or fast you run, you always have those rough runs that make you question everything. I think you are already a way more prepared and smart runner than most first time marathoners. I have a good feeling about you & 26.2!

    • ugh. life. Sometimes it’s such a downer πŸ™‚ I think you are going to have a great half next weekend.. You’ve had a really strong training session – Don’t doubt yourself. You should push for your best goal! If the weather is cool (which I’m assuming it is still cool up there right now) and you are feeling on point, then go for it – You got this girl! I’ll be looking for a tweet or FB next weekend with some great results from you!

Say what you wanna say

