230 days

…..until the Space Coast Marathon… 91 days until training start- Okay, I’m not actually going to start counting down yet. but I couldn’t think of anything else for the title so…. yeah.

 

Last week was a pretty great week for running; I had a great 5 mile run, with some sub 8 miles, and then I had a great 8 mile run – slower paced, but 8 miles on a week day is pretty stellar for me.

I scheduled myself for 35 miles. I knew that wasn’t going to happen, but I might as well aim big, right?

image

(I really like that runningahead gives the avg pace per week. I don’t know why I like it, I just do. I definitely prefer runningahead over daily mile. I still like the garminconnect split chart the best.)

I ended up with 28.2 miles last week; I’m definitely happy with that number.

image
group shot at the 4 mile water stop

This week will (hopefully) look like this:

Monday  5 mi easy
Tuesday 6 mi interval
Wednesday rest (XT?)
Thursday 6 mi tempo
Friday XT(?)
Saturday 10mi
Sunday rest
Total: 27

That is pretty much what my marathon training weeks will look like. The only difference will be Monday, which will be a 4 mi easy run, and then obviously the long runs will change every weekend.


You might be wondering how, or why, I decided to run a full marathon.

me too.

Maybe Jenny can refresh my memory as to how this conversation took place; Did I suggest it? Did she? Did she drug me, then hypnotize me, and convince me that I could definitely run 26.2 miles. The latter is the most probable.

 

image

side note: google documents rock! We created this document that we can both edit. We can also watch live editing – Jenny watched me try to move that stupid I love 26.2 image for at least 5 minutes. There is also a little chat box with in the document. so fun.

All I know for sure is that we spent days looking at marathons that take place in the Fall. Surprisingly, or not, there aren’t that many Fall marathons. We have a short time frame that we need to stay within, so perhaps that made the search a little more difficult.

We even made a spreadsheet with each marathon and added the pros and cons of each race. Picking a marathon is serious business, it’s kind of like picking the name of your kid. If you pick the wrong one, it could ruin you life.

Okay, so maybe picking the wrong marathon won’t ruin your life, but it can definitely taint the experience. Nobody wants bad marathon juju.

image

Space Coast Marathon takes place in Cocoa, Florida.

image

Not sure what mostly flat means – I know we stay on one side of the river, and don’t head over towards the beach – so no causeways. I looked at an “interactive” course map, but that was no help.

As I mentioned in my last post, I don’t know what goals David has set for me. It’s probably better that way for now – I’d probably spend the next 91 days freaking out.. and then I’d spend the following 20 weeks continuing to freak out over whether or not I can actually pull off the goal time.

I do have my own goal; which could be in line with David’s goals. We’ll just have to wait and see.

I’m not even going to pretend that “just finishing” would be a good enough goal for me. That’s great for a lot of people – It’s a great goal, but I can’t pretend that I would be satisfied with that.

image
I hope I can do it.

Obviously there are a lot of factors that can make or break a race: Weather is going to be a big factor .. November, in Florida, is a tricky, tricky month. In 2011 we had plenty of cool days leading up to the Women’s half marathon, and then when race day rolled around, it was hot as hell.

If everything is working against me, and I realized that I can’t make my goals, THEN I would be happy to just finish – but I refuse to go into the marathon saying, “I’ll be happy to just finish.”

image
LOL found on pinterest

 

In other marathon related news: Whose excited for the Boston Marathon? I watched it last year on Universal Sports, and I plan on watching it again this year – assuming it will be available on Universal Sports again. – just have to make sure I don’t schedule any patients to come in next Monday. heh

9 thoughts on “230 days

  1. I’m excited for you…you will do amazing! It won’t be the easiest thing ever {currently fighting with running with just a few weeks to go to Fargo} but I think you will do great, just keep your head in the game!

    And I give you a ton of credit for admitting up front that you aren’t okay with a goal of just finishing. I respect that. For my first that’s all I needed – this time around I need a number. Haven’t figured it out yet but I’ll have a reason to stare at my Garmin!

    GOOD LUCK! 🙂

  2. AHHH! You did it! You signed up for a marathon! You should totally find a little countdown clock! 🙂 So excited for you!!

    Also – I just clicked over to runningahead and I like the way it looks. I may start using it! 🙂

    • I haven’t actually signed up yet.. I have until the end of August before the fees go up. I need to give my bank account a break from last race season, before I sign up for anymore races 🙂

  3. The Kim Kardasian poster was the only one I remember seeing at Shamrock. I thought it was funny. I looked up the Space Coast elevation chart and it looks pretty flat to me. Mostly gentle inclines and declines that you probably won’t notice. And I hear ya on having a time goal for your first marathon. Just finish doesn’t work for me either.

    • That Kim Kardash sign made me laugh out loud. I’m going to try to get over to Cocoa before the race and drive the course just to see what it’s like. … great excuse to head over to the East Coast beaches!

  4. It looks like you’ve picked well! A 1st marathon (or any number marathon really) is exciting. 🙂 I had a time goal for my 1st last year, and I’m glad I did. I squeaked in with 3 seconds to spare, and I honestly think I would have been slower if I hadn’t had that time goal to work toward. One word of caution…. It sounds scary to me to be “in training” almost 5 months (July to late Nov). I know you’ve had a long season of halves so maybe it will be fine for you. But perhaps, pushing the official “start” back to later July or early August will help you avoid some burnout. I know you’ll still be running over the summer, but this is just a random thought. I’m sure you’re going to do great either way!

    • I don’t actually start increasing my long runs until August 25th, which is my first 14 miler. Until then I’m just alternating between 10 & 12 mile long runs, which was my plan for the summer anyways, assuming I survived race season w/o any injuries (so far so good!).

  5. Believe me when I tell you that if I can do it, anyone can. You will be awesome! (and my #1 goal is not just finishing…that’s a given)

Say what you wanna say

