I scoff

A few weeks ago I was scouring the internet for new meals to make. I enjoy cooking, but I find that I’m usually short on time and need something relatively quick to make.

I found this recipe for Black Beans & Sausage on Pinterest. The actual recipe is from Martha Stewart, so I’ll link back to the Martha Stewart site.


picture from Martha Stewart site.

This wasn’t exactly a quick recipe, but it was easy, and it was super tasty. Chris & my Dad commented on how delicious it turned out to be.

I made a few changes to the recipe: The original called for carrots & shallots.. I didn’t have carrots, and I don’t even know what shallots are, so those were out. I added onion, green pepper & brown rice. Here is my final recipe:


Black Beans & Sausage

2 tsp olive oil
1 lb kielbasa or smoked sausage (I used turkey kielbasa)
1 small yellow onion, diced
1 green pepper, chopped
salt/pepper
1tbsp garlic, minced
2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
brown rice – I use that instant bagged rice (2 bags)

1. In a large skillet, heat oil over medium-high. Add sausage and cook until browned on all sides, about 8 minutes. Transfer to a plate. Add onion & green pepper, cook until they begin to soften (season w/ salt & pepper). Add garlic, cook until fragrant. Add black beans & broth and bring mixture to a boil. Add sausage, reduce heat to a rapid simmer. I let this simmer for about 15-20 minutes.

2. If you use instant rice, start around the same time you add black beans & broth to the skillet.


work it out

I was planning on taking a total rest day today; but then I got home, sat on the couch, and felt miserable. I just felt so lazy, and gross. I didn’t want to run, or do yoga, but I wanted to do something.

I’ll be the first to admit that I scoff at walking treadmill workouts. Like, really? Walking..treadmill.. doesn’t exactly seem like it would produce much sweat…and then you ramp the incline up to 7 or 8 and the speed to 4.3 and you’ll sweat your ass off. At least I did. I didn’t start out with an incline of 7 I kept bumping it up. I put the speed at 5.2 for a few minutes and ran/jogged(?) for a few minutes with the incline up.

fine. I admit. it got me sweating. and I felt like I at least did something besides sit on the couch and stare at the treadmill.

I also did a few ab exercises, and rolled my poor legs with The Stick.

 

tomorrow I’ll be back out on the road to get a few miles in (need to check my schedule to see what I said I’d do).


I’m currently in denial about the weather for saturday. my plan is to skip 9.3 miles, at an 8:00 pace, while holding hands w/ Jenny. just ask her, she’ll tell you.

 

 

hi mike 🙂

4 thoughts on “I scoff

  1. Yeah I have days where I’m just hanging out, planning on doing a rest day– but then I just feel way too lazy and end up having to do SOMETHING exercise-wise to feel better!

    Oh and you are going to smoke that race this weekend, I bet you’re going to keep a sub 8 min pace!!!!!

  2. I was feeling the same way on Tuesday when I randomly came upon some YouTube videos of some workout Heidi Klum supposedly does. I gave it a shot and felt foolish because there wasn’t a lot of sweat and it just felt wimpy. Yeah…my butt muscles hurt so freaking bad today, apparently prancing around your living room actually works!

    GOOD LUCK on Saturday! 🙂

Say what you wanna say

