not this month

In case you missed it, this morning I recapped my very lackluster 5k from Sunday.

At the beginning of the year I set a goal to run 1000 miles in 2012. That is roughly 83 miles per month – I met that quite easily in January, I ended the month with 100 miles. I’m struggling a little bit in February. Taking an entire week off did not help that situation at all. — Huh. I just remembered that the month actually ends on Wedensday, not Sunday. All day I’ve been counting my race(S) this weekend as part of my February mileage.

What a crappy realization that was.

Well, regardless, I still have to have a plan for this week.

work it out

:last week:

Monday (2/20): 3mi + yoga
Tuesday: (2/21): 4mi
Wednesday (2/22): rest
Thursday (2/23): 3mi
Friday (2/24): 3mi
Saturday (2/25): rest
Sunday (2/26): 5k + 6.3mi
Total: 22.4

Never give up
:the plan for this week:

Monday (2/27): 4mi
Tuesday (2/28): 5mi + yoga
Wednesday (2/29): 4mi
Thursday (3/1): yoga
Friday (3/2): Rest
Saturday (3/3) 15k + 5k = 12.4mi
Sunday (3/4)= rest probably

 

Today after work I set out for a 4 mile run. My quads are feeling sore after Sunday’s race + 6.3 miles, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. This run was a disaster. My stomach was rebelling, and my legs were just over it.

image

I felt like I swallowed a balloon for the entire run. My stomach was so bloated and so uncomfortable. Man, it was horrible. My legs just weren’t into it. My brain wasn’t into it. I ran without music, and that sucked. I definitely need to get some music back on my MP3 player. I enjoy running w/o music sometimes, but it’s nice to have when I’m struggling through a run.

Check out this picture from the Bradenton Herald

take stock start line
see all the kids? ugh.

2 thoughts on “not this month

  1. A sick stomach while running is the worst. 😦 Hope your next run is much better. Also hope you get some music soon. I like quiet outdoor runs lately, but on the treadmill I almost always crank up the music.

Say what you wanna say

