a lot of things wrapped into one

The weekend was pretty busy; I spent the entire day Sunday cleaning. I got up at 8:30, had a boring breakfast of oatmeal, then got right to work cleaning. I carried my coffee cup around with me as I started deciding what to do first. I love our house, I really do, but the entire house is wood floors, except for the bathrooms, and those are tile. That’s a lot of sweeping & mopping. ugh. It seems like a pointless chore with two dogs (& a husband) that track dirt in just as soon as the floor as dried. Oh well, I tried.

A few weeks ago I started decluttering our house. I started in our bathroom. Good grief. We had so many bottles of shampoo & conditioner, and various other hair products, it was ridiculous. Half used bottles, unopened bottles.. in the trash. I only kept what I actually used.

It felt so freeing to throw away all that clutter.

Then I started to tackle our closets (all 4 of them) and dressers.

buh-bye old clothes & shoes.

 

After way to many hours of cleaning I decided to test out my new treadmill (and my foot). I haven’t run or done any sort of impact workouts since Feb 12th (RnR) so I was really anxious to get a run in.

I decided on an easy 5k: time was 26:56, 8:42avg. I felt great, aside from being bored. I had no pain or discomfort, I think my foot is on the mend.

I’ll be taking it easy this week just to make sure my foot is 100% healed come March 3rd (gasparilla 15k).

Monday after work I ran 3 miles on the treadmill; 26:29, 8:49avg– I also did Jillian Michaels Yoga meltdown. Two workouts in one day!

I think the rest of my workouts this week will look like this:

Tuesday: 4mi treadmilly
Wednesday: yoga
Thursday: 3 mi treadmilly
Friday : 3 mi treadmilly
Saturday :  rest
Sunday: Take Stock in Children 5k + 7 miles = 10miles total

Total: 23 miles + yoga x 2

I’m opting to run on the treadmill this week just in case the foot pains rears it’s nasty little head again. All my running routes (all 2 of them) are out and back routes; if I started having pain I’m stuck. It’s easy to just jump of the treadmill.

 

Are you a neat freak? Any tips for me?

Any races this coming weekend?

5 thoughts on “a lot of things wrapped into one

  1. Cleaning out our closets and getting rid of tons of stuff before we moved made such a difference! It obviously made the move easier but it also felt really good to just get rid of the stuff we never used anymore! That was a year ago – we need to do it again. The thing is…Chris is a pack rat. And even though he doesn’t wear a shirt for three years the week I donate it he will be on the hunt for it. It is convinced I tossed his Barry Sanders jersey…which has been missing since before he even moved in with me 8 years ago – still holds it against me!

    Glad the foot is doing better and have fun on the treadmill…looks like it showed up just in time! 🙂

    • The crazy thing is that I threw out a ton of stuff before we moved into our new house… stuff just accumulates so fast, it’s unbelievable. A lot of the clothes are just things that, for whatever reason, I couldn’t part w/ even though I never wore them. horrible. Chris has clothes that he doesn’t wear, but he won’t let me throw them out… I did get rid of a few things. gotta get rid of them slowly. ha ha

  2. Think you are wise to play it safe with the foot; foot injuries = no Bueno.

    I kind of like cleaning out closets, it feels good to get them organized again. Cleaning wood floors with dogs and messy husbands, not so much. Totally feel your pain on that one.

  3. I wish I was a neat freak. 🙂 I have been trying to de-clutter lately, and I packed up boxes & bags of giveaway stuff. That always feels good. I’ll send “positive energy” wishes to your foot to be healthy & healed. 😉

Say what you wanna say

