can’t win them all

I caved.

It’s all Jenny’s fault.

securedownload

I said I wasn’t going to check the weather all week, and then I did. At least it looks like a decent weekend instead of miserably hot. Hallelujah for small miracles.

Now that I know the weather, I’m starting to wonder about a time. I even considered going to the coolrunnings website to play with the calculator.

She won’t be laughing when she gets insane texts from me stressing out for the rest of the week.

Never give up

Unfortunately my hamstrings are still feeling a little bit tight. Not bad, but they are just a little uncomfortable. I decided to take a rest from running and do a circuit-type work out.

image

I’m not sure on the total time. Chris made me stop what I was doing and come help him with the counter top he was installing. The caulk was time-sensitive so I had to help.

I like circuit work outs, but I feel like they aren’t effective. They must be, otherwise why do people do them?

cookbook for Katie-1

This morning I was perusing pinterest for dinner ideas. I have chicken in the fridge, but poor Chris doesn’t love chicken and we had it at least 3x last week.

I’ve been trying to avoid ground hamburger; not for any particular reason except that it’s not the healthiest of options.

I saw this curried veggies recipe & thought YUP! That’s what I want to make tonight! I miraculously had the majority of the ingredients. I only had to pick up a few things from Publix.

The ingredients list is long:

Warm Vegetable Curry

2 cups sweet potato (peeled) & cut into 1/3 inch dice
2 cups chopped cauliflower florets (1/2 – 1” chunks)
1 large onion sliced
1 15oz can garbanzo beans
1 large tomato chopped
1 8oz can tomato sauce
1 cup frozen peas
1/2 cup veggie broth
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp fennel seeds
1 tbsp ginger
1 tbsp kosher salt
1/3 cup cilantro chopped
1/2 cup greek yogurt
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp red pepper flaks
2 tbsp curry bpowder
1 tsp cumin

  1. Heat the olive oil over medium high in a large skillet. Add the sweet potato and cook for 5 minutes, until the sweet potato begins to brown.

  2. Lower the heat to medium and add the red pepper, curry, cumin, cinnamon, fennel seed, and ginger and cook for 2 minutes, until the mixture is fragrant. Stir occasionally.

  3. Add the cauliflower, onion, broth, garbanzos, tomato, tomato sauce and salt. Cover and simmer for 10 minutes until the veggies are just tender. Uncover, add peas, and continue simmering for 5 more minutes to allow the sauce to thicken. Season if necessary.

  4. Serve the curry over rice, top with a dollop of greek yogurt and some cilantro.

DSCN1283DSCN1286

The Verdict:

It’s kind of prep intensive. You have to chop the sweet potato, tomato, & onion. Measure out quite a few spices, and there are a few different steps to cooking it. If you’re used to this type of labor intensive recipe it’s probably nothing. I’m more of a throw it in a pot and go kind of girl. I don’t like a million ingredients. I’m horrible at chopping things, so that takes me forever.

But,

It was tasty! I am sad to report that Chris was not a fan at all. He actually didn’t even eat it. He ate a few bites, apologized that he didn’t like it and then ate a left over turkey burger.

Oh well. You can’t win em’ all!

3 thoughts on “can’t win them all

  1. I’m a compulsive weather checker also…it usually starts about 10 days out, popping onto Weather.com 1x/day or so. At 7 days out, it bumps up to 1-2x/day and depending on the forecast may continue as such until race day. Bad weather=increased OCD checking of weather. Good weather=less checking, more crossing my fingers and praying to the weather gods.

  2. Looks like some fun ingredients; glad you liked it! I do beg to differ on your worries about beef. I think if you choose leans cuts & keep portions reasonable beef is totally healthy. Especially to keep your iron levels up and get your B vitamins, zinc, etc. Okay, sorry for the nutrient lecture. 🙂 I eat other meats, beans, dairy, etc but I worry when people dismiss beef as unhealthy because it gives you a lot of good stuff too.

    Hope the weather stays great for the weekend. Happy anniversary too!

Say what you wanna say

