I smiled

Happy Thanksgiving

Hope you’ve had a lovely Thanksgiving

We (my friend Sherry & I) started our morning nice & early @ 4:45. I had plans to run the St. Pete Times Turkey Trot (10k). Sherry was also planning on running it but due to some unresolved foot pain she decided not to run. I’m sad my friend couldn’t run, but glad that she still came to hang out.

The SPT races are a pretty big deal in the Clearwater area – I’m not sure how many people were there, but it was a big crowd. The St. Pete Times offers something for everyone. There is a 5k fun run, a 5k competitive run, a 1 mile fun run & the 10k.

I registered for the 10k with hopes of being in the top 125 women, and running a PR. The top 125 women & top 125 men receive neato SPT Turkey Trot coffee mugs!

I lined up near the front of the pack so that I wouldn’t have to weave to much, and hopefully reserve my coffee mug. When the gun went off I was by myself ( No striders) but within a few minutes I found Tracey & David, which was perfect because I knew Tracey wanted a sub 50 race – same as me.

Our first mile was 7:52, ooph. My legs were feeling a little heavy & stiff, so I was worried that I would crash & burn. – The weather was pretty nice, so at least we had that on our side.

SEE, I’m smiling. weeee I looove running

Mile 2 was a little more conservative at 7:56. An 8:02 avg would secure a sub 50 race.

Miles 3 & 4 we slowed down, 8:10 & 8:12. Somewhere in mile 4 or 5 there was a long incline. I feel funny saying there was a hill on a course, because I’ve seen elevation maps of courses that actually have big hills and our elevations look nothing like that. However, for this area, we had a hill, and it didn’t kill me, and I was happy. wheeee

sidenote: our windows are open and I can hear the neighbors screaming at each other. yay thanksgiving family get togethers.

Miles 5 & 6 I found another gear and pushed forward. I felt good. I felt strong. I felt …. happy. whoa. happy, while running? Huh. what a concept that is.

mile 5: 7:59
mile 6:  7:50
.25: 6:55

I squeaked in at 49:44, 99th female and secured my top finisher mug !! woot!

DSCN0291

(it’s okay to be jealous of our Guy Harvey tray table)

image

It’s a good sign when 4 out of 6 miles were sub8. That makes me smile!

image

I really enjoyed this race – the weather was nice and the course was lovely. We ran through Clearwater, and apparently part of downtown Largo (according to my garmin map). There were a few little bands, and some people hooked up stereo systems in their driveways with music blasting. I’m not a fan of big races with lots of crowds but somehow this race didn’t seem all that crowded – except the start ..somebody was smelly.

I felt focused, and on point. Not a mess like last week. What a difference a good race can make in my attitude, right David? heh.

DSCN0301

Sherry & me eagerly waiting for the Turkey to get done frying. We were super hungry. The boys fished until almost 4pm. eesh.

Are you crazy people going shopping on Black Friday? 

The only place I plan on going is the running store. They are having a sale on shoes, and who doesn’t love a good sale on shoes?However, they open at 10 AM.. you people are crazy going at the ass crack of.. well, you’re just crazy.

6 thoughts on “I smiled

  1. Congrats on the mug 🙂 And NICE pace!! Add 100 to that elevation profile and its about what my runs look like.. small hills (probably not even enough to be called a hill) – I didnt even get out of my pajamas today.. Im such a LOSER! :/

  2. One of your best racing performances since I met you! So happy for you that you executed every mile so well and stayed on track, even on that so called Florida 5th mile hill. Great job Jena!

Say what you wanna say

