say it ain’t so

apples tree edit

The week is winding down.

The weather is starting to turn cooler, at least this week, and it feels amazing!

wunderground

Get outta here with the high of 70 for 2 days in a row, WHOA! That’s great news! I’m so sad that I don’t get to run with the group on Saturday morning! The weather is going to be PERFECT! — I just hope the temps stay cool for a few weeks so that I can have nice weather at both of my upcoming half-marathons.

When I got home from work today I putted around the house for awhile until I could get motivated to change into clothes and go run. The cooler weather should have motivated me, but the wind was blowing around 20mph (I looked it up) and that counteracted any motivation that I might have had.

I had 5 miles on my calendar today, so that’s what I did. I went out to fast, and every mile was pretty much a struggle, with the exception of mile 5, when my legs finally decided they wanted to cooperate.

I wore the Brooks Pure Cadence today – I’m not sure if that was the culprit of my calf pain or if my legs were just tight from not doing much for the last few days. I stretched at 1.5, 2.5 and re-adjusted my shoe laces. They were pretty loose so I tied them a little tighter.

to tight.

then I loosened them. I felt like I was playing a losing game today. Thankfully the wind wasn’t a head wind, it was blowing at me from the side, so I guess that  was one thing working in my favor.

10_19_2011

I can’t complain about my pace, it was a pretty great run pace wise, but dang if my calves didn’t want to explode the entire time (except mile 5).

Tomorrow: 6 miles, in delightful temps.

I can’t wait.

How’s the weather in your neck of the woods? Cold, hot, wet, dry? a combination?

5 thoughts on “say it ain’t so

  1. Oh no! Roll that calf out girl! I hope it feels better when you wake up!
    It is funny how 70 is low for you.. and today we are going to have “unseasonably warm temps” with a high near 70. haha.

    Your pace was super quick despite calf problems!

  2. Hope your calves cooperate on the next run! Weather around here is getting cold. It was below 32 and a coat of frost covered my car this morning. The afternoon had warmed up though – sunny and 50’s!

  3. I am forever obsessing over the tightness of my shoe strings…it seems so trivial but I swear it makes a huge difference!

    We’ve had amazing weather here in CO too. It dips down into the 30-40s overnight but we get back up to 60-70+ during the day. Perfect!

Say what you wanna say

