head level, knees soft

 

Another day has come and gone, it’s almost the weekend!!

I went to the grocery store after work today – what a nightmare. Usually I don’t mind going to the grocery store, but it’s like the 3rd circle of hell between October & April. The parking lot was packed, which is fine because I park at the back anyways, but a packed parking lot means a packed store.

For some reason stores around here can’t figure out how to staff their stores according to demand. Wal-mart is the worst, but with Snowbird season in full swing Publix needs to get it together and open more than 2 registers.

any.ways. ….

I had 6 miles planned for today, and as I mentioned in my random mid-day post my legs were feeling tight. I was a little apprehensive about the distance. I’ve been trying to increase my weekly mileage with out over doing it. It seems to be a fine line between just the right amount of miles & to many miles.

I had intentions of running an easy 6 miles, my legs had other plans:

10_13_2011

My legs were a little tight during the first mile, but the loosened up nicely and I was able to have a pretty successful run. My music player thing (it’s not an ipod, it’s a sansa) died around the 1.5 mile mark, so it was just me, my crazy thoughts, and the sound of my feet hitting the pavement.

I really paid attention to my breathing, and my form. I can definitely feel a real difference when I focus on looking up and not down. If you generally look down at your feet, or at the road/sidewalk, try looking up in the direction you are running and see if it helps.

I found this diagram on pinterest.

running_form

found here

This site also has a few videos on on running form. I haven’t watched them all yet, but I plan on it. I need all the help I can get when it comes to running.

3 thoughts on “head level, knees soft

  1. I try to focus on running more and I can tell when Im doing it “properly” because the burn is different.. I probably should focus on it more, but Ive gotten so used to my slouchy running.

Say what you wanna say

