Well, see, what had happened was..

Fun fact: I can’t cook spaghetti in less than 3 pots/pans.

one for the meat
one for the sauce/tomatoes/mushrooms
one for the noodles.

Then I combine them all together in the noodle pot.

I know, it makes no sense. Chris doesn’t understand it. But, he’s not the one cooking, so he doesn’t have to understand it. amiright?

When I got home from work today I had super great intentions of running a lovely 6 miler on the treadmill. But, sometimes the best of intentions just don’t work out.

I made dinner so we didn’t end up eating at 9pm, like last night and then changed into my running clothes, hopped on the treadmilly and started doing my thang. I stopped to stretch after a mile and then my phone rang, and it was all downhill from there.

My  Mom called, and the conversation went like this:

Mom:  “Did you run a redlight?”
me: “no, why?”
Mom: “I got a citation in the mail and it shows your car running a redlight.”

oops. Chris drives my car more than me, and I didn’t remember running a red light so I was guessing that it was him.  – When he got home we looked @ a calendar to see what date it was and we figured out that we were coming home from Honeymoon Island.  – After more discussion Chris remembers accidently running the light and saying, “ut oh, I think I saw a flash. there must have been a camera.” … and then that was the last we thought about it. until today.

red_light_runner

So. don’t run red lights. #1 it’s dangerous as hell for everyone involved. Chris didn’t intentionally run the red light, and is a pretty safe driver. #2 it’s expensive as hell. $158 for the ticket. 

We deserve it. No doubt about that. We are pro red light camera’s. I think they are a good way to deter people from running red lights. Obviously it can still happen, but I think it’s a good deterrent.

Do you have red light cameras where you live?  What was the last traffic ticket you received?

 

So after all this I really didn’t feel like getting back on the treadmill and finishing the last 5 miles. Oh well. it happens. I’m not beating myself up over it.  Tomorrow I’m planning a short/easy run and then Saturday I am planning on doing 8 miles. (slightly nervous about that!)

 Happy Labor Day Weekend, y’all !!

16 thoughts on “Well, see, what had happened was..

  1. well at least you can pass the blame on 😉 big fees though, yikes!

    as for spaghetti… i’m lazy. i’ll just boil noodles, drain them, put them back in the pot and pour sauce (straight from the jar) on them and let it heat up on the stove. less dishes to wash! i’m vegetarian now, but before when i ate meat i never made it with my spaghetti simply because it created more dishes 🙂

    • yaaahhh, I kind of make it difficult. But i like the sauce/tomatoes/mushrooms to all cook together in one pot. IT’s kind of ridiculous really.

  2. Ooooh…those cameras will get you! I agree though, I think they are a good idea.

    Oh well on the run, maybe the universe was telling you to take a break and enjoy a nice dinner with Chris.

    Have fun with your 8 miler!

    • I definitely didn’t mind skipping my run. I’m not really the type to beat myself up over a missed run.

      I am nervous about my 8miler. been a while since i’ve run 8 miles.. like, march.

  3. Oh that sucks! I’m sure neither of youwould intentionally run a red light.

    They had the red light cameras around Atlanta for awhile, but I think they’ve stopped using them. There was a big class action lawsuit that the yellow lights weren’t timed properly, snaring people into running the reds. the city let it go one since it was creating a lot of revenue. I don’t remember the details, but it was something like that.

    • Chris said there was a bunch of hoopla about these camera’s going up , bc the company that puts them up get half the profits from them.. but they maintain them and monitor them so i guess it’s “fair.” I was surprised that the fine was $158, that’s kinda steep.

  4. You are not alone! I always make spaghetti in three separate pots/pans too! The noodles, the meat, and everyone likes to pour their own sauce on. This makes me laugh!

  5. I’ve heard there are quite a few traffic cameras here in KSA. There have been some articles in the newspapers about senior clerics upset that the cameras violate women’s modesty. Yes, a blurry picture from a distance where you might be able to make out the outline of a woman in a long robe with her face covered in the backseat is immodest.

    • KSA is an interesting place. I’m really starting to get intrigued by it all. After delivering Eid Mubarak chocolate yesterday, and learning about the forgiveness holiday of the Jain today, it’s pretty interesting.

  6. No red light cameras in our area, but I guess they are a good way to keep people from running reds.

    My spaghetti method is the same as your’s; takes at least 3 pans!

  7. I use two pots for spaghetti – one for the noodles and one for the meat/tomato sauce. But then Chris won’t eat anything but hamburger in his sauce so its simple.

    Uh, since I’ve been living in Denver I’m a bit advocate of running yellow lights…but there are a lot of cameras at intersections around here so I *try* not to run an actual red light!

  8. Pingback: Let’s talk about it: Red light cameras | Life is Beachy Keen

Say what you wanna say

