Expectations, and a new plan

Remember last November when I ran the Women’s Half-Marathon. Remember how I was severely undertrained? How I ran the half in 2:07:58? How disappointed I was in myself?

definitely faking the happiness here.

I’m feeling a little defeated about my upcoming half-marathon and it’s still 16 weeks away. I’m in the process of creating my own training plan. I’m not a pro at this by any means, but I don’t like the schedule that runner’s world came up with. So, I’m going to try creating my own and see how that works out.

Ideally I would like to run a sub 2-hr half, but I’m trying to be realistic. My training has been sub-par thus far. I want to create a plan that will allow me to work up to 13 miles before race day, keep my weekly mileage at a reasonable level, and have adequate cross-training. I don’t want to do worse on the course than I did last year, so If I can’t do sub 2hr, I’ll settle with anything less than 2:07:58.

If/when we join the gym, I am looking forward to joining in a few group classes. Everyone RAVES about spin, but it intimidates the hell out of me. I’ve been once. and that one time was enough to scare me. It’s so intense, and I know that everyone starts as a beginner, but oh man.

Daily work out

Today(tuesday) when I got off work I came home and did a little work out. My original plan was to run 3 miles on the dreadmill (it’s been raining since last night). But, once I started running I got bored quickly and cut the run down to 2 miles. I did 2 mi in 18:59, then did a upper body weights work-out.

8lb weights:

15 push-up
15 tricep extensions
15 bicep curls alternating arms
15 shoulder press
60 sec plank
15 crunches on stability ball

5lb weights:

10 push-ups
60 sec plank
15 tricep extension
15 bicep curls alternating arms
15 shoulder press
15 crunches on stability ball

I’m feeling a little soreness in my arms for sure. Tomorrow I’ll probably just stick with running. Hopefully the rain will stop, and the streets will dry up.

*Dinner*

So far so good with sticking to the meal plan for this week! Last night we had a summery pasta salad that I found while searching the interwebz for new recipes. Check out Sweet Beginnings for some other yummy looking recipes!

Sweet Beginnings’ Summer Pasta Salad

Ingredients*

  • 2 cups tri-color Rotini or Fusilli Noodles, cooked according to package directions
  • 2  Zucchini, sliced into ¼ inch rounds
  • Salt, to taste
  • Pepper, to taste
  • 1 1/2 cups Cherry or Plum Tomatoes, halved
  • ½ cup Red Onion, diced
  • 1 Tbsp fresh basil, coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 cup + 1 tsp Olive Oil, divided
  • 1/4 cup Tbsp Red Wine Vinegar
  • ½ Lemon (optional)

Preparation

  1. Lightly sauté zucchini using 1 tsp of olive oil or cooking spray and season with salt & pepper, then cut each round into halves or quarters.
  2. Mix olive oil & vinegar together in a small bowl.
  3. Toss pasta, zucchini, tomatoes, and onion in a large bowl with the olive oil mixture. Season with salt & pepper, add basil and stir.
  4. Refrigerate for 30 minutes, squeeze lemon over pasta (if desired), toss and serve!

*If you prefer to make as an entree, grill 2 chicken breasts and cut into bite-sized pieces, then toss with the rest of the ingredients.

This is actually pretty similar to some pasta dishes that I already make. I’ve never used chicken though, so that was a new delicious addition.

I added green pepper to the list of veggies that were used in this dish. Now that I’m reading the prep instructions I’m realizing I really didn’t follow this recipe at all. Oh well, I’ll give her credit because I used chicken and tomatoes and that’s not something I usually do.

I sautéed the zucchini, onion, tomatoes & green peppers, while the noodles cooked. Chris grilled the chicken while everything else cooked. I seasoned the chicken w/ garlic powder, and some Mrs. Dash seasoning.

Once the noodles & veggies were cooked I combined them in a big bowl and let them sit on the counter while the chicken finished up on the grill.

Chris cut the chicken into strips and then added it to the mix. The instructions say to let the dish set for 30 minutes in the fridge, but Chris was “starving” so we ate it while it was still hot.

Oh, and I had every intention of using the red wine vinegar & olive oil dressing but before I could say “NO”, Chris was dousing the whole thing with Italian dressing.

DSC04140 

mmmmmmm!

 

Livin’ life, lifting weights, getting buff. Kapow!

5 thoughts on “Expectations, and a new plan

  1. Dude…its definitely feasible to run a sub 2 hr half with a 16 weeks (or less) training program. I think I still have my training program from my half last fall (that I ran 1:52:ish in) if you want to see it-the running gurus at the group I run with put it together, but I didn’t feel like it was hardcore…last summer/fall was my first season running with this group so I did speedwork all on my own. Either way, if you want to take a look at it to get some ideas, shoot me an email at osulori at gmail dot com. Now that I’ve used Hal Higdon’s programs (for my first half) and the programs my running group gurus give us (for HMs #4 and 5), I’ve realized that I really don’t like Runner’s World’s programs either…so I understand that 100% 🙂

  2. I’m feeling you…I’m trying to figure out how to get myself up to a half marathon with enough time to enjoy it while getting faster! I just need to find myself a race to run!

    And definitely try out spin. It scared the crap out of me but go in with water and maybe your own towel and just go for it!

  3. Ok, just close your eyes and plunk down the cash for a gym membership already. You know you want it.

    Especially for a Florida gal, spin would be an excellent addtion to your training plan. Probably the next best thing to hill training (since we know the closest thing you have are causeway bridges) for your quads, glutes, and hammies.

    16 weeks is still a ton of time to prepare. Don’t be psyching yourself out already. Your goal is very attainable.

    • We are planning on joining the gym, it’s just a matter of being able to get there together to sign up.

      I know 16 weeks is plenty of time to train, just the way my training has been going doesn’t give me a whole lot of hope for the rest of the duration.

  4. You will rock it!!! 16 weeks is a lot of time to get some good training in! I have faith in you girl.

    That pasta looks delish! I make something similar with Italian dressing.. basically just pasta, dressing and a buttload of random veggies.

Say what you wanna say

