Answer me this:

The days are dwindling down as my vacation gets closer & closer. I’m stinkin’ excited. Yesterday I made a list of things that need to get done before we leave. Simple things, but thing none-the-less.

In a matter of days I’ll be doing this:

Jupiter to West End. Yes Please!

We’ve been stalking the weather on Wunderground.com to make sure we will be able to cross over. If the wind is bad and coming from a certain direction we won’t be able to cross. I’ll find more information out about that tonight when I talk to my Dad. I think it’s interesting, but I can’t remember what he told me. I think as of right now we will be able to cross but it’s going to be a choppy right. Fine for me, but Chris & Jeremy get seasick. =/  Not fun for them.

I have no work out to recap, and last week isn’t even worth talking about. I ran less than 10 miles, and I think I did one XT work out. bleh.  Yesterday my knee was feeling all sorts of funky so I Just left it alone. It’s feeling better so far today, so I’m going to try like hell to run after work. Probably going to have to bang out a few miles on the treadmill. I don’t have time to wait until late tonight. I have to much to do on my list!

So, I set up this little coffee tray for our house sitter. # 1, it’s cute, #2, it will be easier for her, #3 she won’t be digging through all our cabinets. There is nothing in our cabinets, but you know it’s annoying when you go to someone’s house and you have no idea where anything is. So, I put everything together on a tray for her so it’s a little easier.

DSC04010

  • 4 coffee mugs
  • 2 travel mugs
  • creamer
  • caramel
  • packet sugar
  • regular sugar
  • blueberry coffee
  • folgers coffee
  • milk in the fridge

Am I forgetting anything?  Oh, and I also added some powder stuff to make iced coffee if she wants that. Have you ever had a pet-sitter stay in your home? What kinds of things did you do to make it easier for them? 

I have a paper typed up about Diva & Wyatt.. Their habits, schedule, eating, pooping, those types of things. Oh, I also typed up how to use our TV/DVD/Cable box & remotes.. They are tricky.  –Do you usually supply food for the sitter? I asked her if there was anything she wanted me to get and she said, “If you have some macaroni, I can just eat that.”   well. okay.

I have macaroni, and I bought more, but I feel guilty leaving just macaroni to eat. I feel like I should supply healthy foods for the lady to eat- I also have some tuna.. But I can’t go out and stock my fridge with meat & veggies for her to eat all week. We don’t really keep junk in the house, so there won’t be much for her to snack on. I think there are a few bags of chips from previous boat excursions. I’ll set those out.  This dog-sitter thing is kind of stressful. So many things to think about.

Oh, here’s a question I don’t know the answer to. What do we do in case of an emergency with the dogs? We will not be able to be reached for the majority of the day. I’m considering leaving a credit card for a dog emergency.. but I don’t know. That just seems risky. We don’t know our vet well enough to ask them to bill us. … Suggestions?

Pinterest photo of the day:

How cool is this?

Life your life, otherwise it will pass you by. You don’t want to be on you’re the death bed wishing you had done something different with your life.

8 thoughts on “Answer me this:

  1. I’ve never had someone stay in my house to watch my pets…so I am not a lot of help. But if there is an emergency, could you direct her to go to your vet (of course, right), but talk to your vet prior to leaving and just let him know what’s up, discus what to do if anything happens, and if there is an emergency, you will take care of the payment when you get back?

    • I will probably call the vet and see what they say. We’ve only been there twice so I think it’s kind of reaching asking them, but we’ll see.

  2. I have never had anyone stay in my house to watch dogs either, but anytime I leave my dogs with someone, I instruct them to call my mom or mother-in-law if the dogs need to go to the vet and I trust them to make good judgement about what I would do given the situation. My vet will let my mom or MIL pay by credit card over the phone, then I could settle up with the family member in question when I get home.

    On a related note, I had no idea that there were in-home pet sitters. I don’t think you have to feed the lady, most jobs don’t feed you on the job.

    • Good idea. I will talk to my fam about this. There is so much to think about when leaving them with someone.. or someone we don’t know I guess. We’ve left them with MIL a few times, and never even thought about it.. oops. This lady was the only one I found that would stay at the house for long periods of time. Most of them would come for “10 hours” meaning they would come at night, let the dogs out,sleep, let the dogs out in the morning, then leave again. I was not cool w/ that schedule- but this lady actually stays in our home and follows our schedule with the dogs. You are right that jobs don’t feed you.. good point. but we are paying her a lot less then what most people make in a day as well.

  3. Our house sitter/pet sitter is my sister in law so we don’t really have to do anything special. We don’t provide food for her because we pay her to stay there. If she was doing it as a favor I would probably stock the pantry and fridge.

    Even if you don’t know the vet well you could call them and explain the situation and leave them your credit card info. That way if there is an emergency the pet can be treated but you’re not leaving a credit card with a stranger.

  4. We’ve been lucky enough to not have to get a dogsitter or board the Terrible Twosome yet, but when we have friends come over to feed them dinner/let them out when we’re gone for the day I leave my dad’s cell # in the event of an emergency and J and I aren’t reachable. Could you leave credit card info with one of your family members that’ll be in town?

  5. I am a dogsitter so maybe I can help 🙂 The coffee tray-brilliant! Is she actually spending nights at your house? That’s usually what I do with my clients. As far as emergencies with the dogs, I usually have my clients call the vet and authorize any emergency charges that might happen. I almost had to take a dog to the vet last summer after he ate a bunch of grapes but he, um, got rid of all of them. If you have any more questions, send me an email!

  6. I used to pet-sit when I was in college and most people had credit cards on file with the vet in case of emergency. As far as food- some would have the fridge stocked and others wouldn’t. It wasn’t a big deal to me either way.
    When we leave the dogs at the pet resort place they have my mom’s phone number as a back-up.

Say what you wanna say

