I conformed. but just a little

What do you do when you can’t run? You cross train. hip hip hooray for cross-training.

Daily work out

My knee wasn’t bothering me today but I thought an extra day off from running wouldn’t hurt. I came home and popped in a Bob Harper weight workout DVD. I’ve mentioned his work out before, it’s one of my favorite DVD’s. He has a short 20 minute version, and then there is an hour long version. I haven’t ventured to the hour long yet. I have to work on my upper body strength some more. The 20 minute video has me screaming for mercy! My poor little arms.

Monday: 3mi
Tuesday: 3mi
Wednesday: 1.77
Thursday: Rest
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 6 mi
Sunday: Rest

Total: 13.77 mi
No XTraining (oops)

Monday – XTrain
Tuesday- 4mi
Wednesday- 3mi
Thursday- 4mi
Friday- rest
Saturday- 6 mi (depending on my knee)
Sunday – rest

Goal Total- 17 mi

Yummy summer foodz

For dinner tonight I made another super simple pasta recipe. Pretty similar to the one I made last week, only a slight variation. I love pasta- I could eat it for every single meal. I know a lot of people don’t like pasta because of the carbs, gluten etc, etc.. whatever. I love it.

Tri-color rotini, sausage & veggie mix

16oz box of rotini ( this obviously depends on how many you are feeding. I feed Chris & my Dad)
broccoli – I think I cut up three stalks
1 green pepper – diced/sliced/chopped
1/2 red pepper – diced/sliced/chopped
1/2 onion – sliced
turkey sausage
olive oil
a little water
garlic powder (to taste)
pepper/salt
italian dressing

1. saute the veggies in olive oil & water. ( I started with olive oil, but it wasn’t enough so I added some water instead of more olive oil)

2. when the veggies are about done add the sausage and let it cook

3. put rotini on to boil

4. drain rotini- You could mix the veggies/pasta together or keep them separate.  – We put some pasta in a bowl and then put veggies on top. Splash with some italian dressing and dig in. YUM

Once again, this is soo super simple. It takes a little longer than the other pasta dish because the veggies take longer to saute, but it’s still really simple.

DSCN8865

mmmmmm

AND THENNNNNNN

I had a brilliant idea. brilliant I tell you. Two three words:

Root beer Float.

DSCN8872              DSCN8874

DSCN8876
If that doesn’t just scream summer, nothing does!

Go check out my new About Me. Every source that offers advice on blogging says that you should have an about me. I like reading other people’s about me, but I writing my own has always been a struggle. I just think it’s a better idea to read the blog rather than base judgments off the About Me.

7 thoughts on “I conformed. but just a little

  1. Mmmm root beer floats! You’ve reminded me how longs it has been since I have had one! May need to do something about that.. SOON!

    I think I am going to have to give Bob a try. I’ve done Jillian’s 30 day shred (because I could get it through netflix).. but you seem to have TONS of good things to say about Bob 🙂

    • You might be able to get Bob’s workouts through netflix- I dont’ think you can get them through the on-demand channels though – at least I can’t.

  2. Mmmm…we had rootbeer floats yesterday. Heck, we registered (and got) pretty beer mugs for exactly this reason. We’re not beer drinkers but the mugs make great rootbeer float holders! 😉

  3. Ohhh man! I loooove Root Beer Floats! *drool*

    Question about the turkey sausage: Sausage and hot dogs freak me out b/c of what’s in them. I don’t eat sausage or hotdogs anymore. Is turkey sausage the same? All the left over bits that they mash up and throw in a casing? If not I’d try it.

Say what you wanna say

