Not again

I can’t believe Saturday is over and it’s already  Sunday.

Boo.

Saturday started bright (well, not really) but it started early at 5:45am – I got up to make Chris breakfast, and pack his lunch. I decided I wasn’t going to go back to bed because I wanted to hit up the farmers market. I made some oatmeal (shocker) and then browsed the web to find out what time the farmers market opened.

Good thing I checked. Apparently from June – August they hold the market @ night on the 3rd Saturday of the month. … fail. I could have gone back to bed.

I decided I would go ahead and run. I was planning on running Saturday evening, but I didn’t have anything else to do so I might as well go run.

Daily work out

Yay for running in circles. That is why it’s hard to get any distance in my area. It’s doable, but running up and down every road isn’t my idea of a good time, know what I mean?

6_mi_july_16th

I went out right around 7am and it was a little cool? I don’t even know if you can use the word cool in relation to a temperature in Florida in July. It was in the 70’s with 91% humidity. rock on. I stopped to stretch approximately 4 times and it didn’t nothing to relieve the tightness in my hammies. I don’t know what is up with those guys lately but they are as tight as ____________I don’t know, you fill in the blank. They are tight.  The run was good until about mile 5 when my knee really started to become an issue. It started hurting around mile 4, but at that point I was only 1/2 mi from my turn around so I kept trucking along.

The stupid right knee is hurting exactly the same as it was before I started going to physical therapy. I blame it on myself because I haven’t kept up with my exercises, but I’m starting to think something else might be going on now. I’ve had stiff/achy joints for a few weeks now. Bending down and getting back up is ridiculous, I feel like a 90yr old woman. 

I started taking glucosamine chondrotin today (yuck). I read on the box it should start working in up to 7 days. We’ll see. I really don’t want to go back to the Ortho.again.for the third time.

I iced my knee as soon as I got home and then put some icy hot on it a little later. Then I dug out a heating pad and put some heat on it for a little bit. I even took some aleve. Nothing is helping. Walking up and down the stairs is painful, and that’s a problem.

I guess today will be a rest day since running is probably not the smartest idea. I’m not sure what plan of action I’m going to take with my knee. I wouldn’t be quite so worried if I wasn’t registered for a half-marathon in November. I had plans for redemption on that course, but my hopes are slowly fading away for that. I’m being a little dramatic since it’s still 4 mths away, but not overly dramatic. Training starts like NOW.

I don’t think it’s a case of too many miles too soon? Over the last four weeks my weekly totals were 11, 15, 9, and this week would be 14.  —- I have 14 Saturdays until race day, lol, yah I counted. My longest run to date is 6 miles (ahem, today). So I could take some time and do shorter runs again and hopefully build my knee back up…

sorry, totally just thinking out loud there. I also think I’m going to invest in a knee brace.finally. I know, I’ve said that about 100x over the course of this blog, but for real this time. I like the KT tape because it doesn’t feel restricting but it doesn’t stick worth a darn on my leg. Shaved legs or hairy legs, doesn’t matter, it doesn’t stick.

In other non-running related news:

Chris cleaned out one of our two junk drawers, and found my starfish hair barrette that I wore in our wedding. YAY!

DSCN8737

I also wore the matching earrings & necklace. I’m rocking that barrette with pretty much every outfit lately. I love that thing.

I also started packing for our vacation. It’s really hard to “pack light.” What does that even mean? I think I’m going to try and pack both our clothes in one bag.. not sure how that’s going to work once we include shoes, but we’ll see.

DSCN8805

At least I got a little bit of a head start.

Hope you are having a relaxing weekend!

4 thoughts on “Not again

  1. I’m sorry you’re having so many issues with your knee! I definitely know how it is. :-/ I highly recommend the Pro-Tec short sleeve knee brace. It’s less than $20 and works like a charm! I honestly don’t even notice it, it’s not restricting at all.

    I looove the colors in the guest room. Painting the bed was an excellent choice, the white looks so clean and crisp!

  2. Sorry you missed the market. 😦 Hope you can find some good produce at the store somewhere to tide you over until next week! Also hope you knee starts feeling strong/ back to normal. It must be so frustrating to deal with an injury this long.

  3. I totally know what you mean about running up and down every road.. Thats what I tend to do.. I have about a mile stretch of road thats about 2 blocks wide.. I run up and down the streets over and over.. People probably think Im nuts but its better than nothing! – I love that barette!! – I always pack early 🙂 I cant help but be excited to go somewhere so it makes me feel like Im getting closer when I pack

Say what you wanna say

