insert title here

A very GIGANTIC Congratulation to my Jenna2nna & her hubby Troy on their newest addition baby Brendon! (even though you cancelled my hair appointment just because your water broke Winking smile I’m still super excited for you and I can’t wait to meet little Brendon!!!!!!)

Daily work out

Once again, after work today I wanted to do anything but run or work out. The only thing that forced me out the door was that stinkin’ goal about working out 5-6 days a week. This goal is either going to be good, or it’s going to irritate me all month long. After whining on twitter for a while I finally decided to just go run. It helped that it was raining. (yay rain!) I headed out with a plan of running over to the house my Dad is building. Chris stopped there to work with Dad on his way home so I wanted to go see what was up and when they would be home. Might as well run there, right? It was not as far as I though, only a mile. crap. I hung out there for a few minutes and then headed back towards the house to finish up my run. I ended with 3.3miles.

My legs felt really tired, and tight. I forgot to stop and stretch at 1/2 mile like I usually do. I ended up stopping at 2 miles and stretching, but it really didn’t seem to make my hammies feel any better. It rained through out my entire run, but it was still a struggle. I guess maybe it was humid?

3.3mi_rainy

Overall, it was an okay run. I’m just glad I finally decided to go out and get it done!

Before I went out for a run I got dinner ready to go in the oven. My biggest issue with running so late, (btwn 7:30-8) is that we end up eating dinner so late because I usually still have to come home and cook. I tried to avoid eating late by getting dinner ready to just throw in the oven when I got home. (fail.chris still didn’t get home until after 8)..

I enjoy eating healthy, but sometimes you just need some good ol’ comfort food!

Extra vege-licious Shepherd’s Pie
pre heat oven to 350*  (bake time, 15 minutes)

6-7 potatoes (peeled & chopped)
1 can corn (drained & rinsed)*
1 can green beans(drained & rinsed)*
1 can peas(drained & rinsed)*
1 package frozen (or canned) spinach*
1lb ground turkey (browned)
1/2 c milk
1 tbsp butter or margarine
2 tbsp plain greek yogurt
*all veggies cook while the the turkey browns & potatoes boil

mashed potatoes  I let the potatoes boil while the veggies are boiling & turkey is browning
boil potatoes until soft
drain water out of potatoes
in a bowl add potatoes, milk, butter & greek yogurt
MASH!!

* After turkey is browned, drain grease. Place turkey in the bottom of a casserole dish.
* drain veggies and layer them on top of turkey in casserole dish. Depending on the size of your casserole dish
* layer mashed potatoes on top of veggie/turkey combo
* cover with aluminum foil and bake for 15 minutes.

DSC03940
True story: When Chris & I moved in together I found that masher thing while unpacking a box. I had NO IDEA what it was. Not a clue. I had to wait until Chris got home to find out what the heck it was. Now I love that thing, but I thought it was really stupid at first. Now me and the masher are, like, BFF.

DSC03943

Probably not the healthiest dinner I could make, but it’s pretty tasty. I was thinking about using sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes next time. Not really sure how that would taste? I also made the mashed potatoes differently than I normally do. Usually I put mayo in them (ew, right? it’s weird, but it tastes good) but last night I subbed the mayo with greek yogurt, and I used less butter than I normally would. Chris didn’t even notice. I also usually use ground beef, but I didn’t have any ground beef,  so turkey is what they got. bahahhhahaha {insert evil grin here}.

YAY for Friday, right? Any plans this weekend? My weekend is filled with parties. A birthday party for my BFF, and a baby shower for my old office manager’s daughter!

Git ‘er done

2 thoughts on “insert title here

  1. Shepards Pie looks yum!

    You’ve been doing in awesome job getting your runs in even if is the last thing you want to do!

    Congrats to your friend for welcoming her newest addition.. and have a blast celebrating at all the parties you are headed to!

Say what you wanna say

