Whoa Y’all Whoa

Uhm. Excuse the mess that is this blog right now. I’m currently trying to put up the sidebar, and I’m having more difficulty than I would like to admit.

Moving on.

I hope everyone had a pleasant Monday. My day was rather slow and uneventful.

Y’all, I have good news!!!! I ran twice with out pain! I ran Friday after work. I was a cranky-o-saurus. I was dying to run and my mood would not improve unless I could run. So, I went to sports authority to look for a knee brace; then I remembered I had seen some KT Tape there and went to check that out. I watched the You Tube video on how to apply the tape to my knee and decided that would probably work best. Plus, it was cheaper than a knee brace. win.

IMG_1016[1]IMG_1017[1]

IMG_1020[1]

That is my YES! I just ran pain free face! I look like I’m in pain, but I’m not. I think I put the KT Tape in the wrong place on either side of my knee because it started peeling off. Not KT Tapes fault, just mine so I can’t say that I didn’t like that about the tape. I loved the tape. It was easy to put on, and easy to take off. I obviously felt like it helped.

I went for a run Sunday evening and was pain free again, YAY! Chris rode his bike while I ran. I love it when he does that. He even volunteered to go with me, even better! I asked him to pace me so I could push myself a little bit. I felt like I was just running at a comfortable pace and I wanted to be a little bit uncomfortable. He did a good job, I finished 3.1mi in 28:16, 9:01 pace.

3_miles_kt_tape

I’ll take negative splits for $500. Thank you. I struggled a little. I was having a hard time catching my breath. This run definitely wasn’t as easy as I wanted it to be. But I feel a little more confident that I can complete the 5k portion of the Madeira Mad Dogs Tri this weekend.

 

Today after work I attempted 4 miles. I don’t know if this was the best idea since I went to physical therapy this morning, but I’m dying to run so I went for it. Chris volunteered to ride while I run so we took off for 4 miles. This run was not fun. I felt like I was dying the whole time. My legs didn’t feel tired, but I just felt out of breath the whole time. Then around mile 2.89 my knee started feeling achy. It would come and go. My KT tape wasn’t sticking and I’m hoping that is why I was having some knee pain. I managed to run the entire 4 miles, but it definitely wasn’t easy or fun.

4_mi_comeback

 

Dinner tonight was easy peasy; so easy Chris made it while I iced my knee. It’s getting to be summer time, and with summer time comes shrimp, shrimp & more shrimp. This summer I want to see if we can buy shrimp from the shrimp docks that are by our house (by the way, they smell SOOOOOOOOOOO bad). It’s gag worthy when I run by there. ick. Anyways, tonight we had a shrimp/pasta combination.

Shrimp, Pasta, Pepper & Mushroom Yummyness

1.5 lb shrimp
1/2 bx of pasta
3/4 red pepper
1 cup mushrooms
white wine

First we put the noodles on the stove to boil. Cook them to your desired tenderness.

While the noodles are boiling we cut up the pepper then saute the pepper & mushroom in some white wine.

Unfortunately the shrimp I bought had to be peeled so we had to peel those before we could saute them w/ the peppers & mushrooms.

Drain the noodles when they are done.

Drain the mushroom, pepper & shrimp mix.

Mix the noodles & mushroom mix together and EAT.

We also put Italian dressing on ours, but you could probably put just about anything on it and it would taste good.

DSC03456DSC03457

8 thoughts on “Whoa Y’all Whoa

  1. Glad the tape is helping and you can do some running! Just don’t push it too much as you get started again. Love the lighter background. It’s always fun to play around with layouts and design, but challenging too. Good luck!!

    • I’m still trying to figure out what kind of mileage I should be doing so that I don’t end up injured from overuse.

  2. The shrimp dish looks ultra yummy; thanks for sharing. And congrats on the knee. I might need to try that KT tape, but doubtful it would work for my chronic hip problems.

    • It probably won’t solve a chronic problem, but it might help w/ stability and relief a little tension. Who knows. I was a little skeptical that it would help; mostly because I have no idea how it works. But I’m a believer now.

Say what you wanna say

