Third times a charm

Hope everyone had a fabulous Thursday. Mine was rewarding, and frustrating all in the same day.

It’s no secret that I work in healthcare, it’s also not a secret that healthcare is an extremely frustrating field to be in. It’s frustrating for everyone involved from the patient, to the Doctor, to the hospital, and the insurance.

This is where my job becomes really important. Since it’s just me and the Dr. I spend a lot of time with my patients. I check them in, I register them, I triage them, I schedule all labs, radiology, and I schedule their surgery. They call me if they need something. I’m there go-to person.

source

I take this responsibility very seriously. I learned a long time ago that I am the face of the office. Yes, the Dr. does the surgery, and the real life saving, but I represent the Dr. I’m the first impression that the patient has of our office, and of the Dr.

I’m getting to the story; We started seeing a patient quite a few months ago. They were pretty anxious about coming into talk w/ the Surgeon. I’m not going to go into to many details, about why we were seeing the patient for obvious reasons. I spent a lot of time with this patient as we saw them quite a few times. They told me and the Dr. several times that I was always very pleasant to them, and that one of the reasons they felt so comfortable w/ the Dr. was because I was always very caring towards them.

Anyways, all that to say that this patient came into my office today to tell me good bye. They are going back up North for the summer. They brought me this gigantic fruit basket as a thank-you for being kind to them. I swear, it was the sweetest thing. I cried. For real. I’m that lame. It was just very touching.

photo (3)

That joker is loaded w/ fruit. There was 4 plums, and the bottom is loaded with apples. It’s not sitting on that green foamy stuff, it’s literally packed with fruit. So awesome!

Other things happened today that weren’t so pleasant. Things that make me really question why in the world I’m in healthcare.  Things that make me wonder if I’m in the right part of healthcare. That’s a talk for another day for sure.

 

On to other health related things; I went to physical therapy this morning. Wow. That was serious. I am doing some of the same things that I did last time I went to PT, but there are some new things as well.

I made a video this afternoon to show you some of the exercises that I’m doing in PT.

Sorry the audio is kind of wacky. I’m not working with the greatest equipment over here.

I did not work out tonight. I was plenty sore from my workouts the last few days and PT. Tomorrow I’m going to buy a knee brace and attempt to run. Yah. Might not be the smartest move, but whatever. I have to try; I’m supposed to run the 5k part of a tri next weekend and I need to make sure I can run. If I can’t, then I have to decide that I need to drop out, and take care of that.

It’s almost the weekend y’all. Just one more work day!

9 thoughts on “Third times a charm

  1. A caring staff really does make all the difference in the world! I know I am always scared with anything medical so it means so much when the nurses/PA’s and even receptionists are compassionate.
    I can’t imagine what a frustrating job it must be sometimes, but it’s patients like that who must make it worthwhile.

    • I definitely think the front office staff sets the tone for the entire office. Not always, but a lot of the time, if the office staff is grumpy, so is the Dr. I’ve seen it a lot.
      Thanks for commenting 🙂

  2. What a sweet gift. Healthy, thoughtful, and delicious! Sorry your day also had a lot of frustration. I can’t imagine dealing with insurance companies all day. Ug!

    GL as you continue PT. I really hope you can be running again soon.

  3. So glad to see you. You are adorable and so fit! What is your injury? I’ve been in PT for 9+ months (injured for more than double that time), so I can relate. Why were you walking sideways on the TM?

    Also, congrats on the fruit bowl. So nice . . . and the fruit looks delectable. Yum!

    • My “injury” is a weak right hip that is leading to knee pain. I can’t run more than a mile w/o my knee tightening up and hurting.
      The walking sideways thing is supposed to help strengthen your hips. That’s what the PT said. It really does start to burn after 3 minutes. I’ll do whatever the PT tells me to do because I’m ready to be back out running again!

      • Wow, hips can be difficult. I know this because I’ve been dealing with my own issue for a LOOOOONNNNGGGG time. Just don’t give up on the PT. I like the new website. 🙂

  4. You are such a sweet and compassionate person to make sure all the patients feel comfortable in your office. You are truly a blessing…because I have dealt wilth people who are the COMPLETE opposite of you. Perhaps I will have to start making Dr. appointments in Florida. Hhaha

Say what you wanna say

