When being in pain is supposed to feel good

 

I went to bed at 10 last night, that’s a little bit early for me. Then I proceeded to toss and turn for the rest of the night. Wyatt started barking and when I looked at the clock it was only 10:45. I had to check my phone to make sure that was right. Really? Only 45 minutes. Oh boy.

That’s pretty much how the whole night went. Just tossing & turning. I took a muscle relaxer before I went to bed and that usually knocks me out. (Don’t worry, it’s prescribed to me!!)

It’s safe to say that I did not wake up in time to do Jillian Michael’s Yoga Melt Down. I hit up exercise TV on-demand to see if it was working. It wasn’t. Enough is enough, I called brighthouse to find out what the heck is going on. After a frustrating 15 minute phone call the lady reboots our box and some of the work outs work.

At least Yoga works. That’s all I really wanted this morning. Weird, right? I don’t even really like yoga, but it’s all I want to do. My back is so sore, and my hamstrings are so tight you could bounce a quarter off them.

I think this is my new favorite pose. It feels so good on my back; I’m pretty sure I could go to sleep in that pose. Right now I think I could go to sleep in any pose.

Good thing my Dr. is out of town today; he would really tell me I look tired. Ha Ha. Yesterday he said, “How are you Jena? You look very tired today.”

Awesome.Thanks.   He means well. He’s a super nice guy so I think he says things out of concern.

I also love the down dog pose. Feels soooooooo good!

I am seriously wondering how I am going to do Insanity 6 days a week. I think I can get through today’s work out. I am pretty sore, but it’s not a debilitating sore. I probably won’t be able to go as hard as I could if I wasn’t sore. I mean, the guy knows people are going to be sore and this is the way he designed the program, so I guess he knows what he’s doing. Right?

I started tracking my work outs in my google calendar. I use dailymile.com for running, but since I’m not running right now I don’t go on dailymile. I know I can track other work outs there, but honestly, it’s a little depressing to see all the runs that people are going on. So, instead of getting annoyed and upset about it, I’ll just use another calendar.

work_out_calendar

I like this format better for tracking all types of workouts better than dailymile. I can see everything I’ve done for the entire month in one easy screen.

I am definitely enjoying the change from running. I’m sad that my knee is still bothering me, and there doesn’t seem to be a real diagnosis; but it’s fun to do other exercise besides running.

Happy Cinco de Mayo, Y’all

I will not partaking in any festivities. I’m not drinking alcohol this month, but even if I was we aren’t going to any parties.

 

You only have one life, so live it !!

9 thoughts on “When being in pain is supposed to feel good

  1. As I was bebopping around to some peppy cardio chick this morning on ExcerciseTV I was thinking about starting Insanity. Running is a struggle for me right now (healing groin pull) and I’m using the time to try out other workouts. Spin class tonight!

    • I definitely like the intensity. I get so bored with at home work outs and Insanity keeps my attention. Of course I’ve only done one work out and the fit test, so that could change.

  2. If you are tossing and turning.. try child’s pose in your bed for 5 minutes. I know it sounds silly — but the nurse at my school said it is an excellent pose to calm the body and mind down and will put you into dream land. I didn’t believe her. But I tried it. And when I put my whole body back on the bed, I felt like I was on a CLOUD. Passed out in no time.

    Be sure to control you breathing… counts of 5 or soo!

    • Thanks for the tips. I normally sleep really well. I don’t know if I was just over tired last night, or uncomfortable from being sore. When I do have trouble sleeping I turn on some white noise. I have an app on my iPhone that plays ocean waves, or thunder, or other misc. sounds. Totally forgot about that app until right now. Darn.

  3. I hear you about getting bummed out by reading about other people’s awesome runs. I am also having trouble figuring out a good way to track my non-running workouts. Like am I making any progress? I guess that I can see progress in lifting, but I don’t really care about that. Silly.

    Hope your PT appointment goes well. I don’t go until May 31…YGTBFKM. Seriously?

    • Holy cow. Is there only one physical therapy place you can go? that is horrible. I am going to the same place I went last year for PT.. They were really nice and I felt comfortable with there Therapists. So we’ll see this time. This whole thing is so frustrating.

  4. i tried insanity… it got old to me, fast! i mean it’s kind of the same stuff every.day. (sure, so is running, but i dunno, that’s different to me) anyway, insanity is a tough workout, but i can only handle it a few times a week at most. (not that i’ve done it recently…)

    i love yoga… but i can rarely make myself do it. usually when i try to do it (i have a dvd) i start thinking about all the stuff i should be doing around the house or something. it makes my shoulders sore (all the chatardundasanha’s or however they’re spelled).

    so, just rotate. do whatever you feel like doing that day. bike, yoga, walk, jillian, whatever. the important part is to do SOMETHING!

Say what you wanna say

