Ta-Da!

Happy Hump Day!!

On my way home from work today I remembered how incredibly blessed I am. I mean really. We are so blessed to live where we live, have great jobs,  and we are healthy.

I rode home with the windows down, the sunroof open, and the radio as loud as it would go. (obnoxious, right?) Kenny Chesney was singin’ Live a little and it was totally appropriate. I even saw a lady in a jeep driving with no doors, or roof in her bikini. {jealous}

045

 

I didn’t work out Tuesday afternoon, instead I convinced Chris to take me fishing!!

DSC03182

Whoever invented work didn’t know how to fish

Monday when Chris went fishing he caught a ton of trout. Only one keeper, but a lot of little ones. I don’t care what size they are, I just want to catch fish. I was hoping we would have similar luck.

We definitely did not have the same luck. We went at a different time of day, so that could have had something to do with it.

Chris kept catching pin fish:

T

 

The first picture is a pin fish (which we use when we fish with live bait). The 2nd picture is the type of artificial lure we were using.. Uh, they are the same size and you don’t normally catch pin fish on an artificial bait.

I kept teasing Chris and saying we should take a picture so he can send it in to Capt. Bill Miller on Hooked on Fishing.

I know this is a lot of fishing talk. Stay with me for a few more sentences. Chris wouldn’t let me take a picture.. so I got the brilliant idea to make our own “fishing show.”

So, without further ado:

I know, I am so lame; but it was fun. To bad we didn’t catch more..or a bigger fish. Oh well.  This was our fish count:

  • 4 pin fish
  • 1 undersize trout
  • 1 legal size trout (15 inch)
  • 1 foul hooked lady fish
  • 1 small & foul hooked snapper

Not impressive. I had a couple of good bites, but they got off every time. sad face.

Oh well, I was still happy to be out on the water with my Hubster!

DSC03193DSC03197

DSC03202

DSC03205

 

Live life; Today is not certain, and tomorrow is not promised!

11 thoughts on “Ta-Da!

  1. My husband would be so jealous of this post. A bad day of fishing is still better than a day with no fishing.

    The names they give to fish crack me up. Imagine someone overhearing you talk about a foul hooked snapper, lol.

    • It’s true; a bad day of fishing is better than no fishing.

      I guess I should have been more specific about the fish names and what foul-hooked is 😉

      The snapper was actually a mangrove snapper. Foul hooked means the fish gets hooked some where other than it’s lips. This one was hooked under it’s lips in it’s “chin.” It was a real bear to get that hook out.

  2. Ahhh … I love riding with my windows down.. for some reason, it gives this added sense of freedom and appreciation for all that I have. Then I feel silly for some of the petty things I get upset for when I realize all that I really have in my life.
    Looks like you caught quite a few fish on your trip! 🙂

  3. My husband would be jealous too. He loves to fish even if he doesn’t catch anything! These fully stocked farm ponds that we have here in Iowa aren’t always fully stocked!

    • You would think w/ an ocean full of fish you’d be guaranteed to catch something. But there have been plenty of times when we’ve gone fishing and gotten completely skunked.

  4. Lady fish are such a pain in the ass.

    I used to go fishing with my dad. I was in charge of catching the pin fish… mostly because that kept my attention the longest.

    • Lady fish are so gross, but they are a good hard fight most of the time. Chris managed to hook this lady fish in the back. It was strange.

      We normally catch pin fish with a cast net. Sometimes Chris’ will catch them with a sabiki rig, but it’s quicker w/ the cast net.

      Fun times.

  5. Ahhh…what I wouldn’t give right now to be able to roll down the windows and blast some music (we haven’t reached 60 degrees here yet)! We just started planning a family camping trip so the hubs could take the kids fishing for the 1st time. Love when life is stress free.

    • Well, I’m jealous that you are about to go camping. Camping weather is over here. Unless you want to melt & get eaten alive by bugs, which I don’t. Kids fishing is awesome. They get so excited..well I get excited too, but they get so excited! We took my neice fishing for her first time and she was hilarious! Have fun!

  6. My H would also be super jealous of this post. He fishes as often as possible, but he just has our little pond to fish in. What he would give to “real” fish a few times a week!

  7. I finally got a chance to watch the show. Love it!! You are too cute. Definitely make another episode when you get time. Sorry you didn’t have better luck fishing, but I’m sure you’re good at dealing with the ups and downs with all the fishing you do.

Say what you wanna say

