Simplicity

Good Monday Morning! Hope your weekend was relaxing. My weekend was awesomesauce:

Saturday while I was at the beach I was listening to Kenny Chesney on my iPhone. Normally I don’t listen to music at the beach, I enjoy taking in the sites & sounds of the beach. But, this isn’t a “real” beach. I don’t know how to explain it.

Here, I’ll show you a picture… Thank you Google maps.

pine_island_1

It’s this weird peninsula thing. The park is at the end of that weird peninsula.

pine_island_2

See. It’s weird. That is the ocean, but it’s just weird. Anyways.

So, there is no crashing wave sounds, it’s mostly screaming kids & bitching mothers, and chain smokers. (klassy).

So you can see why I would need to take an iPod with some relaxing music.

Kenny Chesney makes me want to sell everything and move to the Bahamas. I swear if I could figure out a way to make it work I would. I want to live somewhere that’s a little more simple. So what if a gallon of milk is $12. lol. (just kidding.sort of). I don’t know how much milk is, but with a quick Google I found out gas is $4.83/gal – which from what I hear isn’t that much different from many places in the U.S. (Thankfully we are still in the $3.70s/gal).

I’ve come up with a 5 year plan. I never had a 5 year plan, I don’t have a plan at all. After reading Megan’s post last week I started to wonder if I should have some sort of plan.

I sort of feel like a slacker because I have no real goals. I mean, I have a great job so CHECK that goal off. I just finished billing & coding school so CHECK that goal off. We built a house, CHECK. We got married, CHECK.

What’s left?

moving somewhere tropical.

Key west anyone?

Yes please.

Of course there are more goals I could have. I think I am more “fly by the seat of my pants” person than I thought. I like to have plans…for one day..not my entire life.

I’m certainly not saying there is anything wrong with setting 5, 10, 15, or 20 year goals. That’s great for some people, but for me(us) that doesn’t work.  Or maybe I’m just not creative enough to think of goals for my entire life? Maybe I’m not motivated enough?

I’ve really been thinking about this a lot for the last few days. I even went on Craigslist to look at houses/rentals in Key West.

ROFL.

I have no idea what I expected but it wasn’t what I found. We will be living in a 1 bedroom shack. But it’s okay because it will be tropical!!

Honestly the only thing in our current price range was trailers. Now, don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with a trailer. Hell, we lived in a trailer for 5 years.

But. Key West + Hurricane season + trailer = fail

So, that’s my goal, err dream. It’s totally attainable..one day..probably longer than 5 years away though.

I don’t know where I’d go if I could move anywhere in the world. I haven’t traveled enough to make an informed decision. I really love the atmosphere of the Bahamas, but that’s the only place I’ve been. Maybe I should keep it that way? Then a decision of moving wouldn’t be so hard because I wouldn’t know what someplace else has to offer.

Where would you live? What type of place would you live?  Do you like the hustle & bustle of a big city? Or do you crave a laid back atmosphere?

What can we do to make our life a little more simple around here?

Hope you have a quick & painless Monday!

 

You only have one life, live it!!

6 thoughts on “Simplicity

  1. haha. screaming children and their b*tching mothers. sounds like a lovely afternoon at the “beach”.

    i would love to move somewhere tropical… preferably an island in the caribbean. yeah can’t quite afford that either.

  2. I spent a full day lounging around this weekend too…only it was completely on my couch, not a beach. Considering anything remotely similar to a “beach” around here still has snow and ice…okay, not quite, but close!

    My dream home is in the mountains. I’m not much of a beach/water person but I LOVE the mountains. Not only does that cost a ton it also makes having a job near by pretty much impossible. I’ll probably have to settle for near the mountains!

    • I love the mountains..to visit. It’s to cold! I know..wahhhhh. They are beautiful though. Maybe the mountains in Costa Rica.. Tropical and Mountain(ful?)

    • I would LOVE to go to the Keys for a vacay. I’ve been planning that in my head for a loooong time! Chris has never been, and I’ve only been once when I Was a kid. Maybe one day.

Say what you wanna say

