Race Report: Suncoast Sprint

Happy Saturday Y’all! I hope everyone had a great Saturday! Hopefully the weather is nice and you were able to get a work out in.

 

I started my morning at the ass-crack of dawn {aka 5:00am}. This came VERY early. We went to a party at a neighbors house last night and might have stayed out a little to late. I came home around 11 (I think).

I met w/ the Suncoast Striders around 7:15 for team photos, and a little warm up run. It’s great to be part of a group. I really felt like I was part of the group today, it was nice. (No one has ever made me feel like I’m not a part, I’m just shy/weird like that).

I was actually really nervous for this 5k. David told me last night he had me down for a 23:45. Oh dear. That really made me nervous. I didn’t want to disappoint.

8am rolled around and we were off. David told me my first mile should be around 7:40. … The very thought of running this fast was terrifying. Sure I could do 1 mile @ 7:40, but 3…. in a row?

I went out to fast. I looked down at my watch and we were cruising @ 7. Oh oops. I tried to reign it in, and I struggled. Melanie was right ahead of me and she was just cruising right along. I was afraid that If I tried to keep this pace I’d burn a slow death. I brought it down a notch and mile 1 was 7:31 (oops).

Mile 2 was pretty uneventful. I don’t remember much about it except that I was thinking, “Once I finish this mile I only have one more to go.” I slowed down a little and focused on breathing. It was a little hot, and pretty humid. Mile 2 7:49.

We ran down by a river and as soon as we turned down by the river it was like hitting a wall of humidity. It was gross, hot, and hard to breathe. Someone, somewhere was cooking something on a grill and all I could smell was smoke. That really helped out my breathing. Sad smile  Melanie was in my sights for the entire race and right as we were about to turn the corner to hit the finish line I caught up with her. We grunted encouragement to each other. I didn’t want Melanie to fade away after she had such a strong race so I tried to be encouraging. We hit another gear and brought it home. Mile 3 7:32.   We both crossed the finish line in 23:37.  Holy crap. 

suncoast_sprint

I truly did not think I could pull of that 23:45 that David was predicting. I’ve run very little since my half and I was a little worried that would hurt me more than help. My knee has been acting up and I was worried that would hurt me as well.

Official Stats:

Gun Time: 23:43
Chip Time: 23:37
OA: 32/238
AG: 2/15
OA Female 9/136 

I’ve felt like a trash compactor all day long. I only ran 3 miles. There is no reason to be this hungry. I just want to stuff my face with juuuuuuunk. I’m about to eat french fries for dinner. :-/ Yum.

Now I’m off to continue to ice my knee, eat junk food, and lay on the couch. YES! Tomorrow I’m hoping to go to the beach and get my tan on.

Happy Weekend, Y’all


8 thoughts on “Race Report: Suncoast Sprint

  1. Great race Jena! So proud of what you have accomplished; you earned that 23:37 as you executed well and have worked diligently to stay focused your goals. Oh, and you have been a part of the Striders group (ie. team) since the day we met you. Looking foward to many more good races and training runs ahead. Your running future is very bright.

    • Thanks David! Thanks for all your support today! I don’t think I would have pushed myself as hard if you hadn’t of given me that “23:46” time!

  2. Congrats on the awesome PR Jena! Great race!

    Glad to hear I’m not the only who’s a trash compactor the rest of the day after 5k’s. It must be all that adrenaline the triggers it.

    Enjoy chilling out and noshing tonight. You earned it.

    • Thanks! It was a really great race! My legs never felt tired, my main problem was breathing. I thought I was going to puke. I’m definitely about to have an iced coffee… @ 9:45pm. Awesomesauce.

  3. You just keep getting faster and faster. Amazing!! Congrats on the speedy race ( and a new PR, correct? :-))

    If having a bum knee can make you set PR’s I think I may want one too. 😉

  4. Congrats on an awesome race! You totally rocked it! Sometimes you just need someone there to give you an “impossible” goal…you did great! 🙂

    I didn’t even run today and all I want to do is eat junk food…I don’t know why, but we had to make a stop at Culver’s for ice cream on the way home tonight. I WANTED ice cream! I’m not usually one to crave ice cream. Weird.

    • Yes, I am very fortunate to have joined such an amazing running group! The group inspires me to run faster, and David sets expectations that I have to reach 🙂

Say what you wanna say

