Practice makes perfect

I feel like I’m floating. I’m still excited about last weekends Gasparilla run. Is that normal?

Today I went to run w/ the Suncoast Striders at a local (to them) running trail. It’s about a 40 minute drive for me but it’s totally worth the 40 minute drive to get to run with such great people. My long run today was 13 miles and I thought I wanted to stay at a 9:15 pace.

I ran the first 4 miles with Bob, and when we first started out I told him I wanted to hang out at 9:15. I thought this was a safe pace. I knew I could maintain that pace for 13 miles. Obviously I have a quicker pace planned for my actual half, but that’s race day and my pace tends to be faster on race day.

Bob turned around at 4 miles and I was on my own for the remaining 2.5 out.  I saw Christine coming back in right around mile 6 so I went to 6 and turned around and met up with her. We talked for a few minutes and I asked her what pace she was hanging out at… 8:20.

Oh.. I’ll be back here @ 8:40. I trailed behind her for a ways then I stopped to get some water and she was gone. I was okay though, I had my music and I was feeling strong.

I started getting water at every water stop at mile 4. I love this trail we run on because it has water coolers every mile or something like that.

I could not believe how great I was feeling. The miles were seriously rolling by, it was bizarre. My right toes did start to hurt around mile 9. It was not unbearable, but it was annoying. I had some sport beans with me so I ate some of those starting at mile 6 and a few other times on the run back in.

At mile 10 I told myself just a 5k to go then I’m done. I wasn’t tired, but I was ready to be done. My legs were still feeling strong. I’ve never been so excited about a long run. What a weirdo.

I stopped my watch at 13.1 miles, 1:55:29, 8:48 pace. HOLLA!

13.1_in_starkey

Stupid lap 15, I hit the button. I should just turn my watch off immediately after I’m done running.

This run was what I needed to give me the confidence I need for my half-marathon in 2 weeks. Oh man, I’m actually really,really excited. 

I normally find it hard to get excited about running a half marathon. Maybe I was excited about my first half, but I was definitely not excited about my 2nd half. Of course, I was severely undertrained for that half, but still.

When I got home I dumped two bags of ice in some cold water and jumped slowly got into a very icy bath.

051

052

Oh man.

I stayed in until all the ice was melted. I think I was in for about 17 minutes or so. Long enough, I know that. whew. I read an old Runner’s World while I sat in my icey bath of torture. The only way I can get through that is knowing that I won’t be sore tomorrow.

 

Now I’m sitting on the couch and I don’t plan on moving for a while. I’m trying not to eat everything in the house, it’s difficult. 

Tomorrow will be a rest day. Maybe some yoga to stretch out, we’ll see what I have time for. We are going to Clermont to see my family (yay!!).

 

Happy Weekend, Y’all!!

9 thoughts on “Practice makes perfect

    • Thanks! Keep working at it! You chip away the mileage and you’ll be ready for a half sooner than you think! Especially after you run that 10k, you’ll be itching to get that longer distance in! (I was!)

  1. Great 13 mile run!! Can’t believe how speedy you’re getting and how fast you improve. I’d be jealous if you weren’t so awesome 😉

    I think you’re definitely ready to smash your 1/2 PR in a few weeks!

  2. Pingback: oops. « Bikini Body Challenge

  3. Pingback: A little bit of progress | Life is Beachy Keene

Say what you wanna say