Race Recap: Gasparilla 15k

As I said last night I went to the expo last night to pick up my number and shirt. I have a few pics that I stole from Carolyn’s blog.

jena gasp

jenny carolyn jena expo

excuse my face in this picture. My glasses always cause this wacky glare.

I went to bed around 10:30 and slept like a rock. My alarm went off @ 430, and I snoozed it until 5. Thankfully I was only a 5 minute walk from the start line, yay!  I had a cinnamon raisen bagel thing with egg and shredded cheddar cheese, yummy!!

I met up with the running group @ 6:15am, I missed the team picture. oops. Then we headed to the start line for a 7:05 start time. David told me I needed to get about 15 seconds from the start line so I bobbed and weaved my way up closer to the start line. I lined up around the 8:30 pace group not really thinking I’d be able to hang w/ them but I wanted to try.

7:05 race time.

My entire race was pretty uneventful. No major issues, and nothing to exciting. It was hot as hell, I will say that. They told us before the gun went off that it was a yellow flag heat warning or something along those lines.

There were water stations every mile starting at 1.5. Thank goodness. I don’t usually get water at every station (except for the Women’s Half, and that race sucked). I got water at every station but one and tried to stay hydrated. It was stupid hot. At mile 7 they had some Gatorade and it tasted SO good!

I also ate some sport beans at mile 3, 6, & 8. I don’t know why 8, I just felt like I need a little jolt of caffeine. I was right behind the 8:30 pace group for most of the run, which was totally awesome. As long as I had them in my sights I felt good.

I had no calf pain, yay! I also didn’t have much toe pain, yay! I did have some  pain but it was tolerable and it didn’t last for the entire race.

I felt pretty strong, but I kept worrying whether or not I would be able to maintain the 8:30 I was running.

I crossed the finish line in 1:19:05, woohoo! My time last year was 1:22:55- Pretty good PR in my book!

My goal was 1:19-1:20, and I would have been happy with 1:21.

15k_gasp_results

I can’t believe the results are already up, but YAY that they are!

To say I’m happy is an understatement. I’m ecstatic with my time. I did feel tired around 7 & 8, but I just tried to zone out to my music and get it done.

15k_splits

Don’t mind lap 11, I hit my watching on the door and it started the timer. doh! I’m really happy with my splits. I am really happy that I hovered around 8:30 for 9 miles.

DSC02880DSC02881

DSC02882

This year& last year. I will admit I’m sad that the medals are so similar looking. I want a medal with a pirate on it!

Oh, I should add: This race is really well organized. There were thousands (I don’t know the exact number) of runners in the 15k this morning and I never felt like it was chaos. There were porto-potties everywhere. I saw three different lines of porto-potties spread out between the convention center and the start line. Love that. I waited for about 2 minutes in the line, and we didn’t get there particularly early. The expo is also really well organized. I didn’t wait long for my number, and I was extremely happy that they exchanged my Small shirt for an XS {still sad it’s not a tech shirt, but I’ll survive 😉 }

I will definitely be back next year for Gasparilla. Maybe the half-mary?!

My plans for the rest of today are to do nothing. I’m camped out on the couch and I plan on taking a nap pretty soon. I’m exhausted.

Tomorrow I might run 3 or 4 miles. We’ll see.

Next up: Half Marathon on March 20th!

Happy Weekend Y’all

13 thoughts on “Race Recap: Gasparilla 15k

  1. Awesome race time Jena! So proud of you. I had you down for 1:19:30 today. You finished in the top 3% of all ladies and 8% of the entire field. I hope we can finally dispense with the nonsense that you are an “average” runner. Actually, you are a potentially superior runner who just happens to train “average” right now. We’lll work on you over time. Enjoy the moment and the memories.

  2. Wow; way to go Jena!! Nice job on the PR, and so glad you didn’t have any mega pain to deal with. Now I can’t even remember… Did you wear your new shoes?

    Very cute pics at the expo too. Enjoy some relaxin’ tonight 😀

Say what you wanna say

