I did it

Last night I did it. I finally did it. I broke down and bought a foam roller. I had to, I’m desperate this week.

 

Let’s start from the beginning. I promise I will not whine, I’m just going to state the facts. Deal?!

When I got home from work last night I put dinner on the stove{on low}, put my running clothes on and headed out the door.

Mile 1: omg my legs are killing me.
{STRETCH}

Mile 2: will they ever loosen up?
{STRETCH}

Mile 3: I’m turning around, screw 5 miles
{STRETCH}

Mile 4: Fine, I’ll keep going, but my legs still hurt. WTH?
{STRETCH}

.5: Oh, now my legs want to wake up. To bad, I’m done.

4.5_mi

 

My calves were SO tight for the entire run. I tried stretching them every way I know how, but nothing was doing the trick. Then I walked up the stairs to our house. AH! I can feel a golf ball sized knot in my right calf.

I take a cold shower. Yes, it was hot yesterday and I was sweating buckets.

Knot still in my calf.

Tell Chris I’m going to sports authority to get a foal roller. NOW.

No time to wait and order one offline. Need it ASAP.

Go to sports authority.

Torture Device bought.

Dinner.

Try & foam roll calf. It doesn’t seem to be getting deep enough.

Chris massages my calf. holy crap that hurt.

Ice. Calves & Toes.

Foam roll some more. I can feel it now, but it’s just not getting it.

Chris massages more.

Sleep.

Wake up.

Breakfast.

Foam Roll. OH! There it is..rolly,rolly,rolly,rolly.

I’m taking my foam roller to work. I’m sure I can find a few minutes to roll while I’m there.

I have specific goals for Gasparilla this weekend and this little calf knot is worrying me.

10 thoughts on “I did it

  1. Hurts. So. Good.

    I should get on the foam rolling bandwagon. I have one, but I don’t use it nearly enough. I had a tough run last night and I am feeling it big time today.

    • I think I might ask Chris to foam roll me {lol so dirty sounding} tonight. This knot does not appear to be leaving any time soon. 😦

      • I was just thinking about asking Chris to inflict torture with the actual rolling pin. I think that would be the easiest way to do it. Ugh. Scared.

    • It does hurt so good. It’s really hard for me to inflict pain on myself. 😛 I kind of wimp out and ease up a little, which probably isn’t doing me any good.

  2. I swear I think some of that might be genetic… sometimes, not even from exercising just from daily living Aaron will try to work out a knot in my back or leg or something and I’ll just about scream from him poking me. Not cool.

Say what you wanna say

