Do you barefoot?

This morning I didn’t get up early and do yoga. I just couldn’t make myself actually get up. It really makes no sense because I have to physically get out of bed to hit snooze on the alarm, or to re set it, like I did this morning.

When I get out of bed to hit snooze, I should just get up, but I don’t. The balls of my feet were still hurting pretty good this morning so I thought a little more rest wouldn’t hurt.

Yup, the red highlighted area is where my feet hurt. I’m currently googling various causes of this pain, and arch pain. Not cool. I’m crossing my finger and toes that it was just my socks, and the fact that I ran 18 miles in 2 days and my feet are not used to that. I think the good news with my arch pain is that it was only my left arch and it only hurt during my 12 mi run. It hasn’t hurt since then, so this leads me to believe that it’s not an injury.

 

I’m so paranoid of foot injuries; especially plantar fasciitis. I’ve never had it, and I don’t want to ever have it. I used to always walk around barefoot. I LOVE walking around barefoot. Unfortunately, I learned that walking around on hard floors barefoot can lead to plantar fasciitis. It may not be the leading cause, but I don’t need to add to the stress on my feet by walking around barefoot.

I read the following on  plantar-fasciitis.org,

“Plantar fasciitis is also influenced by the mechanics of the foot. Having conditions such as flat feet, high arches, pronation, or having an abnormal gait (the way in which the foot hits the ground), the fascia tissue can become overworked or stretched abnormally, resulting in tears and inflammation.
With so many causes of plantar fasciitis, there are many risk factors that suffers should be aware of. Needless to say, activity in sports and regular exercises can place significant stress on the heel and surrounding tissue. In addition, if you have high arches or flat feet, an orthotic shoe insert should be considered to counteract the stress caused by the abnormal mechanics of the foot.”

“Preventing plantar fasciitis is crucial. There are many choices to help prevent the occurrence of this condition, and keep it from returning. One of the most important is maintaining a healthy weight in order to reduce tension on the plantar fascia. In addition, shoes are very important, and should fit well and provide ample cushioning and support throughout the heel, arch, and ball of the foot so that weight is distributed evenly throughout the foot. Try to avoid walking barefoot on hard surfaces and replace old shoes before they wear out, especially shoes that you run or exercise in. When exercising, start off slow and ease into new routines to prevent sudden or excessive stress on tissue. Lastly, keep your calf muscles and the tissue of your feet stretched. Greater flexibility in the tissue makes them less susceptible to damage.”

I’ve noticed that if I do walk around barefoot at home, where we have all hardwood floors, my feet really start to hurt. They even start to hurt if I wear cheap old navy flip flops. I love me some old navy flips flops, but lets be honest, anything that costs $2.50 probably isn’t the most supportive shoe in the world.

I pretty much camp out in my reef flip flops, croc flip flops, or regular crocs from the time I get home in the morning until the time I go to bed.

Do you wear shoes around your house or do you go barefoot?

If you wear shoes around the house, what do you wear?

Have you ever had plantar fasciitis?

I did not run tonight, as my made-up schedule says, but I did come home and do my missed morning yoga. It felt really good to break a little sweat and to streeeetttcchhhhh! I can’t believe how much I enjoy the yoga meltdown. I really, really enjoy it. Those stupid chaturanga things are going to be the death of me. That’s the one pose that I don’t even attempt{lame}. I don’t think I understand where my arms are supposed to be placed. Halp!?! Do they go directly under my shoulders? Or out like a regular push up?

Okay, so I just watched THIS video on the chaturanga and from what I can tell your hands go outside your shoulders but your arms go directly against the body. Correct? Any yoga pros that can help a girl out? I want to be able to do this insane pose. It’s only the beginning of the insane poses I’m sure. I mean, it’s in part 1 of the yoga meltdown.. I can only imagine what’s coming in part 2. AH!

4 thoughts on “Do you barefoot?

  1. Sorry to hear about your foot. I am obviously no doctor, but ball of foot pain doesn’t sound like PF to me. Ususally you feel PF in your heel. I would be thinking more Morton’s Neuroma or metatarsal stress fracture with ball of foot pain, but obviously I’m no doctor, just an avid reader about running foot injuries.

    In answer to your questions: I usually go barefoot at home, well socks, it is cold here. I wear compression socks almost every night from after work until bedtime. I have unofficially had PF before.

    • I guess that post was pretty much all over the place.. I didn’t mean to make it sound like I was relating the ball of feet pain to PF… I’m just hoping the pain was from running hard two days in a row, and bad socks.

  2. Unless you count fuzzy grandma slippers as shoes then I rarely wear shoes at home. We have hard surface floors and I do notice that when I’m in the kitchen for more than a couple of hours (like the 6 hour cookie making from Saturday) my feet kill me if I don’t wear shoes.

    Hopefully it’s nothing major and goes away on its own. Have you tried icing with frozen bottles of water?

Say what you wanna say

